Help with house and pet sitting near Coyhaique, Patagonia, Chile

Country

Chile

updated  

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi - we have a house with 12 hectares near to Coyhaique, the regional capital.
    We also have land further south in the region.
    We built the house ourselves so it is a bit quirky but comfortable. We have three dogs, a cat and two pet sheep (they have names now so are saved from the asado).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It will be an opportunity to learn more about life in Patagonia.
    You will be able to go out sometimes during the daytime to Coyhaique or other nearby places, the dogs can stay inside whilst you are out but will need a good walk before and after...
    Also, there will probably be the opportunity to visit our other land about 230 km further south and when you are not needed to house sit you can travel in the region.

  • Help

    Help

    The main things are house and pet sitting! We need to be able to leave the house for various days, up to a week, at a time.

    Feeding the animals, taking them for walks on the land, keeping them company. The dogs and cat live in the house so cleaning up after them occasionally.

    Also watering and weeding the small polytunnel, harvesting the vegetables. Keeping an eye on the sheep, they are very friendly and will probably join you walking the dogs and cat! Depending on when your here picking fruit.

    General looking after the house, when we are not there cooking and cleaning for yourselves.

    Other random jobs as and when... Helping mend fences, move firewood, rake up pine cones...

    There is also a non-profit organization who do equino-terapia who are based on our land. They have four horses which they use to work mainly with children with physical, mental or social differences doing different activities three days a week. If you are interested you would be welcome to help in different ways, helping with the horses, or with the sessions and there is always some cleaning up to be done. The organization work with the horses barefoot and without saddles or bridles just headcollars but there may be the chance to do a little bit of riding if you are interested.

    As we will sometimes be leaving you to house and pet sit, and it is quite rural it would be good for couples or two friends or people who don't mind being alone a while.

    *️ We are also potentially looking for a longer term house / pet sitter who is (are) willing to commit for around two months in July and August 2020. Basically for the same as above but for longer...! You need to be happy being in a semi-rural (for Patagonia) area in winter with firewood as the heating source. The idea would be to spend a week or so together to show you everything and so the animals can get used to you and then we would be going abroad so not nearby although we can introduce you to friends and family who would be around to help out as needed. This is obviously a bigger commitment - if you think that you might be interested please sned me a message and i can try to answer any questions you have and give you more details.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private room inside the house. The house is self built and a little bit quirky and some unfinished details but comfortable. Part of the time we will cook and clean together, or take turns but whilst you are alone you will have to do all your cooking and keep the house clean. We are not vegetarians but are flexible.
    The food for main meals will be provided but you may want to buy extras - snacks, alcohol...
    Heating and hot water if from a wood burning stove - moving firewood, lighting and keeping the fire going are other tasks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a rural area 4km from the edge of town. It is easy to walk, and quite often people will give you a lift.
    There are various day activities nearby, rivers, reserves with trekking, the town... and for your days off the region is beautiful with forests, glaciers, lakes, rivers, fjords... We will be flexible with days off (you will probably find it better to group them to be able to travel a bit, work 10 days have 4 off but we can discuss it.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 954265572681