Help us in our historic farm in the northern part of Denmark, Thy, in Scandinavia

Country

Denmark

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is an old fjord farm in the northern part of Denmark - in Thy. The farm dates back to the 15th century and the area is brimming with old history from the Bronze Age and the Viking Age in Denmark. The farm is situated beautifully directly at Skibsted Fjord - where you can see thousands of birds in the season, collect oysters, fish and swim.

    We are living 3 generations together on the farm - working and dreaming together. Me and my husband, our 2 kids age 10 and 13 and my parents that are both in their 70thies.

    We run the farm as a b&b / holiday / retreat center and we also breed Hereford Cattle … and we have Orpington chickens, a fat cat and 3 Labrador dogs. In the summertime there are always guests on the farm - on holiday or doing a course or attending a retreat (for an example painting, surfing, yoga). In the winter time it is more quiet and I teach a lot of yoga on the farm - and I'm currently trying to build up more retreat and course activities.

    We LOVE our old place that are in our care until the next generations are taking over, the nature, the buildings, the animals, the fruits, the garden, the water - and we ALWAYS have a lot of projects going on - and always to little time to do them all :). The farm is big and there are always a lot of maintenance work on the old houses - painting, woodwork and smaller construction work. The big projects right now are the fist administrative steps of a renovation of our old stable - where we want to make a new yoga hall and a new breakfast / eating room + a kitchen and the redecoration of a cottage nearby the farm. The smaller projects this year (some need to do, some nice to do): we would like to build a new vegetable house (the storm took the old one), construct a sauna, chalk the stables inside, paint the roof, redesign the vegetable garden, give love to our old apple forest nearby the farm, learn how to make honey, spend more time on our marketing, discover Instagram AND spend time designing yoga clothing that are not made out of polyester :).

    Who are we?
    My husbond works as a highschool teacher - and teaches philosophy and mathematics. I have several educations, in literature, modern culture, Chinese, public management and ledership, grafic facilitation and yoga & meditation (Kundalini and Yin Yoga). I work on the farm, and I run a small yoga business, where I teach classes, do workshops and facilitates retreats here on the farm. I also have a small company doing consulting jobs in the cultural sector. My parents are now retired from their jobs as journalist and nurse - and they are both very active and participates in a lot of the tasks on the farm. In the summertime we also have an employee living on the farm that are helping us with the cleaning and gardening.

    We are very big on food. We bake most of our bread, and we cook wholesome fresh food every day. I love to use wild nature and our own farm products in the cooking.

    We love music - My husband has a huge record collection and he's a hi fi 'nerd' - building loud speakers etc. I play the Gong, the piano and I'm currently learning how to play the church organ and the Indian Harmonium. The kids plays violin and piano. We also love newspapers, books and quality film and tv-series.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When you come to stay here you will be a part of the family and you will learn a lot about the danish lifestyle.

    You will experience how life is at an Scandinavian agriturismo farm that opens up to a lot of different people - and where the passion is about food production and preparation, a life style closer to nature, yoga, activities in nature such as surfing, gathering foods and tending to our old buildings. And we are very interested in learning new things and methods from you.

    You will also experience a active working community - where everybody are motivated to make the impossible possible.

    When I have yoga events you are welcome to participate for free. If you are interested in learning more about how to run your own place, do retreats etc. this is the place for you.

    Although it is sometimes very busy in the house, there is time for coffee or tea and a chat. We help each other with the duties in the daily life.

  • Help

    Help

    There are MANY different possibilities for you to help with here on Skibstedgaard, depending on your skills and interests! Here are som of the main things where we could use an extra hand :)

    1. RENOVATION AND MAINTENANCE!
    a) I need help in the summer house - that we are trying to conform into a lovely artist cottage. So if you know woodwork, painting and landscape work we would love to work with you. The summer house overlooks the fjord and ocean.
    b) I need help preparing the renovation of our stable. Right now I'm spending a lot of time cleaning up and preparing the building for the project - and it would be great with a helping hand.

    2. SMALL CONSTRUCTIONS! This year I need help to build a new green house - the old one got taken by the wind. And I also dream of building a sauna.

    3. GARDENING! We have a big garden - but at the moment I don't have enough time for the vegetable garden, so if you like to work with gardening, it would great with a helping hand / try out your own projects in the garden.

    4. FOREST! Working in the forest - we have a little forest - part of it is with fruit trees. And the forest really needs attention. So if you have experience with forestry please don't hesitate to come stay with us. We also needs help to plant new trees as wind shields etc.

    5. ART! If you are an artist we welcome you if you want to help us giving the summerhouse the wright facilities and maybe 'decorate' it with your own art or even arrange a local workshop :). 3 kilometers from the farm the Danish national gallery are establishing a branch - so quite a lot of interesting art events are taking place in 2019 in the area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danisk, English, French, a little german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are several opportunities depending of the amount of people you are and the season:

    1. We have a small apartment in the main building that we rent out for turists in the season. There are two bedrooms and a living room and a kitchen and bathroom - so if you are a couple or friends, you can stay there, when we don't rent it out.

    2. You can stay in the summerhouse, that we are currently redecorating. There is a finished room with nice view for you. The summer house is 600 meters from the farm, where the meals are.

    3. In the winter-time there is a small room behind the kitchen in the main house with a bathroom, where you can stay if you travel solo.

    4. If you are the outdoor type - you are welcome to camp while you are here. We several tents etc. that you can use.

    Breakfast is informal - you help your self with cereals etc.
    We eat lunch together 5 days a week. Normally cold lunch Danish style.
    We eat evening meal together 5 days a week.

    In the weekends you eat on your own. If you stay in the apartment or summer house you cook on your own in the weekends. If you are living in the house - you will get your food from us, but normally we will won't eat together.

    We will provide bed linnen and towels. We expect that you will clean your own room while you are staying with us - and that you clean and tidy up before you leave us :).

    We love to cook - and we love to eat and try new food - so if you like to cook, you are welcome to take over the kitchen once in a while and cook your favorite dishes for us.

    Please let us know if you have any allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The train station is only 3 km away from the farm - with direct connections to the near by citys. There are direct trains to Copenhagen every day (4,5 hours by train).
    The nearest airport is Midtjyllands Airport / Aalborg Airport / Billund Airport.
    The local bus runs by the farm (but not so often).
    We have bikes on the farm that you can borrow while you are here.

    We will be happy to pick you up at the train station when you arrive. If we have the time we can also arrange for you to be picked up in the Airports :).

    While you are here there are a lot of nice nature events and cultural events that you can participate in. Some stuff is for free - some cost money.

    If you like surfing the place is very close to the 30 super surf spots called Cold Hawaii.

    If you like nature - you are living right in it - and we are very close to the National Park in Thy.

    And you can also just hang out here on the farm - enjoy swimming, walking, reading, doing yoga etc. :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 526411939795