1 / 3

Assist a retired couple with looking after our outdoor bush property in Campbell, Australia

  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 19 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple keen for a little assistance around the house and property. My garden has become overgrown so I could usse some help to get it back and productive. My chicken house needs a few modest repairs.
    There will likely be 2 locations for this workaway. The first will be based in Canberra, ACT, and the second on a bush property one hour away from Canberra. We are preparing the bush property to ensure that the natural environment to reduce the risk of bushfire while trying to avoid any destruction that would impact on the wildlife. the property has a fresh watercourse home to platypus. the property supports wombats, kangaroos, wallabies, snakes, na wide variety of birdlife. we would love to share this natural world.

    Because we are trying to learn French, our interest would be specifically on French speakers so that we could share learnings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The workaway would benefit from iving with an Aussi couple, from working in a garden that needs to be attuned to Australian condition, including especially any of the bush regeneration projects that we have.

    I am a volunteer coach in the sport of orienteering and both my husband and I like to do rogaining – a sport where, with a map and compass you visit check points in the bush. While these activities are more limited for me since my injuries, any workaway would be welcome to join us on any of these activities or any bushwalking activities we do.

    I am inspired to do this hosting after having meet a few workaways while travelling in Europe.

    For travelers, this workaway would an opportunity to stop in one place for a period, have reliable, safe accommodation, and get to know some friendly Aussie.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a retired couple. We are interested in maintaining our home and our property so that it can be managed in the most environmentally friendly way. We would like to share that experience with perhaps a couple of travellers interested in this sort of thing. We would be requesting this assistance for about 2 or 3 weeks and see how it goes from there.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House or cabin. Separate spaces at both locations so that you have plenty of privacy. AND we have plenty of privacy

    The workaway would be welcome to join us for some meals sometimes but not all the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    While at the bush block it will be more isolating, but there's plenty to do and we are very willing to help with transports to the local town.
    My husband and I are pretty self-contained. We would expect that we would share some meals but not all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 972595157766

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join our family of four and help with the kids and around the home in Perth, Australia
Come and enjoy the beautiful south west of WA during wildflower season, Jalbarragup, Australia