Lend a hand in our garden and with our dogs and horses in Ely, rural England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 312 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    304

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    STOP PRESS - STOP PRESS - STOP PRESS

    Helper with practical skills for outdoor and gardening projects welcome. Must be physically fit.

    STOP PRESS - STOP PRESS - STOP PRESS

    I normally run a B&B in a small village near Cambridge, but we are not fully open yet due to Corona. I am originally from Germany, but have lived in the UK for over 30 years. So I am bi-lingual German and English and also speak some French.

    I live here with my 3 dogs, 4 horses and 2 ducks, so there are various tasks in the garden and on the yard.

    The dogs enjoy their daily walks and lots of attention.

    The horses are Warmbloods (23, 12, 3 years and a foal born in April). At the moment only one can be ridden and needs to gain fitness again. He is around 1.57m and is only hacked out. If you are an experienced rider, that's fine, but not required.

    So if you like an active outdoor life, we'd love to hear from you.

    I usually have one helper, but can accommodate a second helper. Ideally somebody with skills in gardening and maintenance, such as painting stables and minor repairs, so we can work as a team. Male or female is fine.

    Please no smokers / vapers, as nobody is allowed to smoke anywhere on the premises.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a German national, but have lived in the UK for 32 years. This means I am fully bilingual, and understand the issues that people face when living in another culture and improving their language skills. Trips to Ely, Cambridge, London and other places of interest are encouraged. There is an English Language Café in Ely twice a week, which is about 5 miles away, and a church in Cambridge offers free language classes. You will have the use of a bike, there is no public transport from the village. Ely has good train and bus connections. Further details will be provided. Third Party Liability Insurance required.K,
    There are restrictions in the UK due to Corona, that vary from time to time.

  • Help

    Help

    Helpers need to be confident to walk the dogs and look after the horses, who live out until December. There are always jobs in the garden or around the yard, such as painting the stables. Anybody who likes cooking for the two of us is a bonus. Non-smokers only. We only take one helper at a time, max of two if they belong together or if I have a second room available.
    Ideally helpers have some experience with looking after horses (live out in the summer), but anybody with practical skills would be welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own area in mezzanine with bed, wardrobe, bedside cabinet, chest of drawers. Photos can be provided on request. Second helper in one of the other bedrooms or second bed in mezzanine, if a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Internet access ia WiFi. 5 miles to nearest town. No public transport, but use of a bicycle and lifts into town for shopping, catching a train to Cambridge, London, the Norfolk coast or other places of interest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.6)

















Host ref number: 954254352411