Experience a unique way of life and Inuit traditional activities in Iqaluit, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mom who works full time for the Federal Government. I have 2 children who are 3 and 5 years old, and a cat. At home, we speak French and English. We are originally from the Province of Quebec. We have been living in the Arctic since June 2019.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Nunavut is the land of Inuit and the land is covered with beautiful tundra. Iqaluit has large Inuit population who practices traditional activities such as hunting, fishing, sewing, throat signing, etc. You will be exposed to this unique way of life and culture through meeting with Inuit during various traditional activities such as igloo building, ice fishing, berry picking. You can also learn Inuktuk, the Inuit language, at the Piruvik Center.

  • Help

    Help

    I need someone to help with cleaning the house, folding laudry, cooking meals, running errands and from times to time babysitting my kids. We have an old cat.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room with a double bed (new mattress). The house has three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The house is warm and welcoming, clean and well maintained. I cook vegetarian meals and fish. You are invited to eat with us. We don't mind if you eat animal based food in our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *Nunavut territory is now closed to travellers due to the Covid-19 pandemy. I will have to ask special permission for you to be able to come in Iqaluit. You will need to quarantine for 2 weeks in a designated hotel before to fly to the territory.


    Normally, there many outdoor and indoor activities that are offered in Iqaluit such as: library, museum, Legislative Assemby, pool, gym, movie theatre, pubs/clubs, restaurants, cross country club, skidoo, ice fishing, dog sledding, hiking. There are also lots of friends gathering. Visit the city of Iqaluit website for more information.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 951382768558