Simple landscaping and renovation of an old barn at a beautiful farmhouse in Triglav National Park, Slovenia

Country

Slovenia

new host  

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a British woman just finishing renovating an old farmhouse, surrounded by natural beauty, peace and quiet and starry nights, in the Triglav National Park in Slovenia. The area is popular with hikers, and tourists visiting the stunning lakes of Bled and Bohinj which are each just 25, and 20 mins drive away.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll experience living simply and slowly, in nature, semi off grid, getting eggs from my chickens, a very not city way of life.! Fresh produce available from local farms. I'm a native English speaker so I'm happy to help anyone with practising their English

  • Help

    Help

    The lower stonework on the barn needs plastering and pointing this year. I did three walls of the house already and I'm not a plasterer! The finished look is rough and natural (hence why I could achieve it!), using natural stone plaster. I can show anyone how to do it but a few hours of that a day is fairly strenuous help and will make your arms and back ache if you're not used to such work!. I have a makeshift greenhouse that needs to be mended. And a fence that needs to be built. And if you can use an electric chainsaw there's trees to to felled and cut for firewood. Its too much for me to do on my own!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare double bedroom room in the being renovated part of the house (old attic) with superb views

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can hike in any direction and its gorgeous! But I imagine you'd like to spend most of your time enjoying the lakes. I have two SUPs you can borrow! And I have a car you can borrow although it would be best if you had your own car then you'd be more free. Public transport to my village from the valley is only a few times a day. Proper shops are 15 minutes away. The lake is 20 minutes away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The internet connection is slow. Fine for working. Not great for streaming movies in HD!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I accomodate a camper van! There is also electricity access if youd like it.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a dog who gets on with other dogs but not cats! If you bring dog it would need to get on with free range chickens

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 948715926899