Looking for help with yard chores for my home in Central Nanaimo close to Departure Bay Beach, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1659

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I live in one of the most beautiful parts of Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, a 2 hour ferry ride from Vancouver.

    I have a large property 1/2 Block from Departure Bay Beach. I am always in need of help around my property doing yard chores and handyman projects.

    My children are grow and I live here with my long time girlfriend. We love to travel and when we can’t travel we love to meet travelers.

    Hosting volunteers has been a wonderful experience and we have made friends with people from around the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Nanaimo is a small city so it has the best to offer with lots of summer activities and festivals as well as endless beachfront parks and outdoor and hiking areas.

    I have lived here for 23 years and enjoy helping travelers get the most from their experience. Occasionally I will even take them around to see some of the wonderful places I enjoy visiting over and over.

    At times we will have dinners or Barbecues with friends and family and always include our guests.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently I am not looking for any help. Thank you.

    Other than that I always have handyman type of jobs such as painting and light carpentry, but in the spring and summer months there are seasonal jobs such as yard maintenance, cutting grass, weeding and general clean up as well as some house cleaning or what ever else I need help with.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in my 5th Wheel Recreational Vehicle (Caravan). It has its own kitchen and bathroom and sleeps 2 people comfortably.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nanaimo is central to Vancouver Island and The Pacific Playground. There is good transportation to all the best tourist destinations on the island.

    The ferry to Nanaimo is the easiest to get to on the Vancouver side and drops you off in the middle of the city. I live 3 km from the ferry terminal here in Nanaimo so I can usually pick people up.

    Victoria is 1.5 hrs
    Toffino is 3.5 hrs
    Paksville is 40 min
    Coombs is 40 min
    Port Alberni is 1 hr
    Comox is 1 hr
    Campbell River is 1.5 hrs
    Port Hardy is 4 hrs

    There are plenty of Beachfront parks or forested hikes near my house 10 to 20 min walk, bike ride or bus.

    7-11 5 min walk
    Groceries/mall 20 min walk or 5 min bus
    Beach 1 min walk

    Sorry no pets

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 944982247755