Help with home chores and some Child-Minding in Galway, Ireland




Favourited 459 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We would PREFER if our workaways were OVER 25, and stay a minimum of 4 weeks but preferably longer. We have had more success in the overall happiness when someone stays longer. We also have a preference for those who have lived away from home. We really value reliability. Please do not apply unless you have FULLY READ our profile. And a new condition is also that we can't provide a quarantine location as the helpers live with us!!
    We eat a wide variety of foods and we need our helper to be open to all kinds of food - though we have no issue with vegetarian as we eat this way 80-90% of the time. But, we use EVERY vegetable and fussy eaters aren't welcome because it makes sharing meals too difficult!

    At present we are looking for someone who can be a 'handyman' as we are preparing to move location to another nice location - Moycullen. I will upload pictures soon - but the house we will eventually live in is looking onto a lake. The land around it needs work, as does the house itself.

    We presently live in a great area of Galway, 15 mins by bus to the centre. We have a large green area a few minutes walk away, called Cappagh Park, and Barna Woods or Rusheen Bay are beautiful for a nature walk. We are also between two coastal areas, Salthill; a very well known area of Galway, and Silver Strand in Barna, so there is access to nice beach walks or walking/jogging the Salthill Prom - this is a stretch of a number of kilometres and overlooks Galway Bay.
    Galway is well known for it's multicultural aspects and there is always something to do or go to here, unfortunately not for parents of small children though!! There are many festivals or mini festivals. A quick google search would give you some idea! We are on the bus route, but many that have stayed with us in the past have cycled as we have a bike available for use - this is faster but the weather in Ireland is unpredictable.

    Our family is Mark and Nikki (aka Dad and Mama), Maebh (18), Art (6) and Cuan(almost 5)

    I am presently a stay at home mom after finishing up further education in accounting and previously worked in a street theatre company here in Galway. I continue my education with nighttime childcare related courses.
    My husband and I both have B.A.s in Media and Irish(he), Geography(me).
    Mark is just finished studying a Masters in Primary Education and is working between different schools as a substitute or on occasion works in his old job in the what was his father's paint shop. Maebh is just finished her Leaving Certificate cycle in school, and awaits results to see which college she gets in to.
    I have had a variety of extra courses which have led to an eclectic collection on my CV! - Yoga Teacher, Massage Therapist, TEFL and Special Needs Assistant!!

    We have been to many European destinations, but my favourite travel experience is when I stayed for 6 months in India with Maebh (daughter). I went back twice after, but to stay in an ashram and to do training in yoga and massage styles. I know my husband's favourite 'travel' experience was his time spent living in Brazil. He worked as a TEFL teacher.

    Maebh (pronounced May-v) has quiet a lot going on too, though all the following have been put on hold until after Final Exams - gymnastics, ballet, circus skills - and is an accomplished stilt walker, aerial trapeze acrobat and has been on National media for her unicycle abilities.

    Art - well, he's a 6yr old that is becoming very independent and can take a while to warm to new people. I'm happy with this as I see it's important to be discerning in who you're friendly with!!!

    Cuan is now our bundle of energy and tantrums! He has joined in the mess making. He had a difficult start with reflux/cow's milk protein intolerance - he's improving but now suffers with significant eczema.
    We have been so grateful for most of the workaway people we've had - a few have truly been exceptional, beyond our expectations and so gladly received. The boys make quite the racket, and are very boisterous with each other - so as is typical in families with children close in age -there is noise! LOTS!

    That's the summary of our family. It's very busy and we don't have family around, hence we feel someone kind, capable and RELIABLE would suit being here. We really think working on your own initiative is very important too. We hope you will find our host listing interesting enough to ask more questions about. Happy to reply as best we can. Sometimes if we don't answer straight away it's down to children taking our time, but we'll do our best.

    Help is Monday- Friday 9.30-3 with lunch break around 1/1.30. We try to accommodate giving days off in a row so that people can travel further away - often people think it must not take long to get around Ireland but road networks and transport mean this isn't necessarily true.
    We can also guide you to attending conversational English language exchange and morning classes in Galway town.
    We are on a good bus route(within minutes) and we have a bicycle for use. The park (Cappagh Park) is 5 min walk form the house with running, football, sports centre. There is a public swimming pool in Salthill.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practicing English - we will try our best to speak as much as possible - but sometimes this might be in the mornings and evenings when time is more available.
    Enjoying Galway. Galway is the city of culture for 2020 and a great place to stay. There is a high student population in Galway which adds to the vibrancy of the city.
    Galway is a fun, vibrant town known for its arts and music scene, especially in July with the Film Festival and renowned Galway Arts Festival and Halloween for the Macnas parade. Also a feature is the Galway Market which runs every Saturday and Sunday.
    Travelling around on the days off. Numerous beautiful beaches are nearby (Silver Strand, Salthill, Barna), as well as the beautiful Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, and stunning, Irish-speaking Connemara.

  • Help


    Housework, prepaing meals, childminding. Using own initiative is important:) Experience with children would be useful, as would experience in the other areas, or just a good amount of common sense! We have a workaway routine and we feel it really helps us all know what needs to be done.
    If anyone has French, Science, Maths - there may be times when we need someone with these skills.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Own Bedroom in a 4 bedroom Semi-Detatched House in a Quiet Cul-de-Sac.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are between two coastal areas, Salthill; a very well known area of Galway, and Silver Strand in Barna, so there is access to nice beach walks or walking/jogging the Salthill Prom as everyone does - this can stretch to a good 3km and overlooks Galway Bay.
    Galway is well known for it's multicultural aspects and there is always something to do or go to here. There are many festivals or mini festivals. A quick google search would give you some idea!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, minimum stay 4-6 weeks but preferably longer.

Art deciding he's a big baby
Santa's little helper
Cúan and Jiyoun
Jiyoun and Cúan
Family day out, a rare picture with all of us!!
Maebh enjoying the delicious food
Jiyoun made some lovely food
Maebh on stilts walking through Galway for St Patrick's Day Parade
Art helping around the house!!
Maebh and Art in Salthill 2015

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 944136548418