Join our young community and help with eco-building in Soria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Community of young people living in a town called Vea, in Soria, Spain, and our horizon is self-sufficiency. The town is in the province of Soria, in a really nice valley which is pretty isolated from any communication, with a river called Linares. To come here and visit us you have to walk 8 km by GR-86 (mountain walk), so most of the things we get from civilization are transported with out horses and donkeys.
    The way we organise is the following: Life here develops in common spaces and then each person has an individual room to rest. We make all together breakfast, lunch and dinner, also work and leisure activities. The activities and works we do during the year are varied, including gardening, masonry, brickwork, carpentry, permaculture, apiculture....and many others.
    Since we first came here 3 years ago, its the first time we are going to open the door to new people that doesn't come from our close environment. This summer we need help between 7 and 22 of july from 8-10 persons between 20 and 35 years old (its just a range, its not forbidden for other people with different ages) to carry on different conditioning/structural/infraestructural works in the town. In concrete, the works will consist in:
    1) Extract and move construction materials (roof tiles, wood, stones...)
    2)Clear and clean some streets and gardens in the town.
    3) Work in the construction of some basic infraestructures in the town.
    We are interested in people wanting to meet new people and proyects,, who want to work and share their time and experiences with good vibes, willing to live and learn new things. Accomodation will be in camp-tents, and we offer vegetarian and non vegetarian option. The idea is to work 5 hours per day The idea is also to work 4 days and rest the following 2 days, in which we can have a walk or do other several activities (learn how to cook bread etc...) The languages we speak are english and spanish. In the other hand, you have to know that we are a community, so everyone has to collaborate with daily tasks (cook, get water in the fountain...).
    At home there is a happy and healthy personal environment, if you are interested in meeting new people and feel comfortable and good, this is the right place. We are a group of people with the will and objective of creating abundant reality in all aspects (personal relationships, food, leisure, work...), hard and serious people when achieving our objectives, we love to play many games, play music with several instruments and laugh as soon as its possible.
    As last considerations, there is no mobile phone signal, so you have to walk 5 minutes through the mountain to get it. The river of the town is really nice and has plenty of place to have a fresh bath, and we don't admit company animals for several reasons (dogs, cats...)
    If you are interested contact me by email and we can talk further about everything

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Personal relationships in the middle of wild nature, life in community, building skills, garden skills, apiculture, carpentry, permaculture, medicinal plants of Spain, cooking....

  • Help

    Help

    We are going to carry on physical works which don't recquire previous experience, just good vibrations and a common physical complexion. The tasks will consist in:
    - Clean, remove and burn wild herbs from streets in the town using non-electric tools.
    - Clean and remove wild herbs in the garden using non-electric tools.
    - Move and extract construction materials (wood, clay, bricks...) with our horses and donkeys in order to repair several houses and infraestructures.
    - Help with the installation and evacuation of water running in one house.
    -Help in our ecologic garden
    Workawayers will also have to help with daily tasks such as take water from the fountain or cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Camping tents in a fresh and really nice hazeulnut and maple forest in the middle of the mountain, with a river nearby. Fresh and nice place. The community will provide workawayers with a tent and mattress, so they dont have to carry one. The forest where workawayers will be accomodated is in the town, it has a fresh water fountain nearby, 1 minute walking.

    The people that live here buy the food and bring it to the town using horses. Each luch/dinner two persons cook for the rest of the community while others rest, play card games or do whatever they want. Workawayers do not have to bring their own food, the community provides it. Anyway, workawayers can bring food and keep it in their tents to eat more if they want to. We will provide breakfast, snack, lunch, another snack and dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Have a walk in the mountains, take a bath, play table-card games, read, rest, meditation.....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park in San Pedro Manrique, the town nearby, there is no option to come to Vea by car, you have to walk the 8 kilometers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day


Host ref number: 941771621711