Join our family and help with some garden projects on Three Sister's Islands, Ganges Harbour, BC

Country

Canada

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy mexican/canadian family with two children, a dog and a cat living in a beautiful and spacious home looking out onto the Three Sister's Islands in Ganges Harbour. We are boisterous and loud when we are home and awake but quiet and peaceful from about 9pm and when the kids are at school. Salt Spring Island is a world renowned destination for people looking to enjoy down to earth people, natural beauty, forest, ocean and lake adventures, arts and culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are more than happy to host people who are wishing to learn english and spanish although the Spanish is limited to weekends when my husband is home from work. We would love someone who plays the ukulele and/or the piano, we like listening to music, dancing, karaoke, going for walks with the dog, hanging out at the beach and taking small trips around the island in our boat. We love meeting new people and sharing stories of adventures and new places to explore.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large garden that is quickly growing out of control and our current project includes pulling weeds, laying down fabric weed blocker and pebbles. We also need some help with general pruning of shrubs, lavendar, sage, rosemary, cedar etc. There is some planting of bamboo to be done and some other small shrubs. We are also trying to establish a vegetable garden in the back that currently includes tomatoes, carrots, squash, beans, lettuce and flowers.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The space we have available is about 500 square feet on the ground floor of a large family home. It has a wood burning fireplace, a view of the ocean, islands and distant mountains on a lovely quiet street in a warm and friendly neighbourhood. There is a small bathroom downstairs with a sink and toilet and you would share a shower and kitchen upstairs. The space includes a tv with Netflix, Prime and Disney Chanel, wifi, and shared laundry. It is furnished with a pull out sofa with chaise, an armchair, a dresser, a double bed and a table. It is carpeted. We have a small boat, seasonal kayaks and our home is situated a short distance to town, and within walking/biking distance to the beach. It is also on the main bus route.

    We are busy and although we love sharing meals and stories with others, dreaming up meal ideas and pulling them together in this time in our life has been a challenge. We are often eating on the run and would like to take the time for sit down dinners more often. It would be nice to have someone to cook together with or who may want help with meal plans and meal preparation for the family. We could teach you how to make some delicious mexican food, home baked goods with an island touch and other family favourites from the world cuisine. We eat mostly chicken and vegetables, sometimes beef and pork and we love to creat smoothies with our Vitamix and fresh juices and fruit ices with our Champion juicer as time permits.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our community is diverse and here you can find many opportunities to practice yoga, meet people with a passion for unique farming practices, sustainability, eco friendly building projects and wholesome living. We have a lively arts and crafts culture on the island with many, many opportunities to connect through workshops and community events. There are numerous hiking trails both challenging and easy. Eight island lakes, ocean beaches, fishing, snorkeling, arts and craft studios to visit, live music, cafes and restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    It would be quiet while kids are at school and when we are out but otherwise noisy.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 373541693891