Cooperate, share, help with consistency and joy needed on our 2 hectares of land - Guadeloupe

Country

Guadeloupe

Favourited 215 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/01/2022

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Lionel and Babeth couple who live in Guadeloupe in the French Caribbean. We own 2 places, a large Creole house in Saint-Claude at the foot of the Soufriere, the volcano of Guadeloupe and a small wooden house and autonomous located in the middle of the rainforest. These two places are located on Basse-Terre, the mountainous part of Guadeloupe. Basse-Terre is wilder with dense rainforest, rivers and black sand beaches. We can do a lot of activities; hiking, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, canyons, kyte, funboard, sailboat etc ... but also enjoy the calm of the rainforest, its fauna and flora.

    Nous sommes un couple Lionnel et Babeth qui vivons en Guadeloupe dans les Caraïbes françaises. Nous possédons 2 lieux, une grande maison créole à Saint-Claude au pied de la Soufrière, le volcan de la Guadeloupe et une petite maison en bois et autonome située en plein milieu de la forêt tropicale. Ces deux lieux sont situés sur la Basse-Terre, la partie montagneuse de la Guadeloupe. La Basse-Terre est plus sauvage avec une forêt tropicale dense, des rivières et des plages de sable noir. On peut y faire pleins d'activités; randonnées, plongée, snorkeling, kayak, canyons, kyte, funboard, voilier etc...mais aussi profiter du calme de la forêt tropicale, de sa faune et de sa flore.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️️️Please reply to host in French

    Our house in Saint-Claude, nearly 100 years old, is a Creole villa, of a typical construction of here.
    Lionnel, night nurse, inventor-builder and didgeridoo player (aboriginal musical instrument) will be happy to share all his passions and his knowledge with you, and willingly accepts your help for all these tasks.
    Babeth, animal behaviorist, equi-coach, masseuse and therapist, will be delighted to share with you his centers of interest and his love for his island.
    We are both eager to learn, discover and share your diversity and your knowledge.

    Notre maison à Saint-Claude vielle de près de 100 ans est une villa créole, d'une construction typique d'ici.
    Lionnel , infirmier de nuit, constructeur-inventeur , moniteur de voile et VTT , joueur de didgeridoo et kyteur se fera un plaisir de partager toutes ses passions et son savoir avec vous, et accepte volontiers votre aide pour toutes ces tâches.
    Babeth, comportementaliste animalier, équi-coach, masseuse et thérapeute , sera ravie de partager avec vous ses centres d'interêt et son amour pour son île.
    Nous enseignons tous deux le Kundalini yoga.
    Nous sommes tous les deux désireux d'apprendre , de découvrir et partager votre diversité et votre savoir.
    Nous avons aussi le désir de nous perfectionner en Anglais et d'apprendre d'autres langues. Merci!

  • Help

    Help

    We are between our two places, the Creole house of Saint-Claude and our small independent house where we want to settle and live there as often as possible.

    We therefore need for the Creole house of Saint-Claude a gardening help because in Basse-Terre vegetation requires constant maintenance, help for the maintenance of the house itself (small work of painting, cleaning and small crafts).

    We also need help on the ground of 2 hectares where is located our small autonomous house in Village in the heights of Bouillante. The land needs maintenance: clearing, landscaping, maintenance of the vegetable garden, pruning, construction ; this site is a healing yoga retreat. All in an ecological spirit, happy friendly and caring.

    Nous sommes entre nos deux lieux, la maison créole de Saint-Claude et notre petite maison autonome où nous souhaitons nous installer et y vivre le plus souvent possible.

    Nous avons donc besoin pour la maison créole de Saint-Claude d'une aide au jardinage car en Basse-Terre la végétation nécessite un entretien constant et d'une aide pour l'entretien de la maison elle même (petits travaux de peintures, de nettoyage et petits bricolage).

    Nous avons aussi besoin d'aide sur le terrain de 2 hectares où se situe notre petite maison autonome à Village dans les hauteurs de Bouillante. Le terrain a besoin d'entretien: débroussaillage, aménagement du site, entretien du jardin potager, travaux d'élagage, travaux de construction . Ce site est un lieu d'accueil yoga / ressourcement. Le tout dans un esprit écologique, joyeux, convivial et bienveillant .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer in the house of Saint-Claude a large room for 2 (the ideal is a couple), with a double bed that can be separated into 2 single beds with a bathroom. The rest of the house is shared with other people living there.
    We want each person to be independent about meals because we often have to go to Village so it's easier for everyone to get by. However, we are in a spirit of sharing, so all that is in the kitchen (dishes, appliances, food, vegetables and fruits of the garden) is available to everyone.
    We will still be happy to share our meals with everyone when the opportunity arises.


    ----
    Nous offrons dans la maison de Saint-Claude une chambre pour 2 (l'idéal est un couple), avec un lit double en mezzanine avec une salle de bain.Vous êtes plusieurs à partager la salle de bain.Le reste de la maison (cuisine, salons, salle à manger, terrasse ) est à partager avec les autres personnes y résidant.

    Nous souhaitons que chaque personne soit autonome concernant les repas car nous sommes amenés à être souvent à Village et c'est donc plus simple que chacun se débrouille. Cependant, nous sommes dans un esprit de partage, ainsi tout ce qui est dans la cuisine (vaisselle , appareils électro-ménagers, nourriture, légumes et fruits du jardin) est à la disposition de chacun.
    Nous nous ferons quand même un plaisir de partager nos repas avec tout le monde quand l'occasion se présente.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nous vivons dans une région montagneuse, il est donc nécéssaire de pouvoir être véhiculé. Il est possible de louer une voiture ou de prendre le bus qui est bien desservi ou de faire du stop si vous préférez. Cependant, toutes les nécessités sont à 5mn à pied de chez nous ( bus, supérette, boulanger, traiteur, primeur, marché, pharmacie, médecin, kinésithérapeute, église, poste, distributeur d'argent, police, gendarmerie, snack, restaurants...).
    Nous sommes aussi disposé à partager nos déplacements quand cela est possible bien -sûr.
    Nous sommes végétariens et évitons l'achat de produits industrialisés du mieux que nous pouvons, sommes respectueux de la nature et des animaux et adorons notre île que nous vous ferons découvrir hors sentiers battus avec grand plaisir!

    We live in a mountainous region, so it is necessary to be able to be conveyed. It is possible to rent a car or take the bus that is well served or hitchhike if you prefer. However, all the necessities are 5 minutes walk from us (bus, supermarket, baker, caterer, futures, market, pharmacy, doctor, physiotherapist, church, post office, cash machine, police, gendarmerie, snack, restaurants .. .).
    We are also willing to share our travels whenever possible. We are vegetarians and avoid the purchase of industrialized products the best we can, are respectful of nature and animals and love our island that we will make you discover off the beaten track with great pleasure!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 859556235128