Help us with milking cows, shepherd goats and cheese making on our farm in Tivat, Montenegro



Favourited 648 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are Russian family living in Montenegro. Me and my husband Andrew have a small family farm. Just 6 milking goats and 4 cows, their kids and some hens, ducks, quails, turkeys. And a pony. We have 3 kids - Andrew -18, Ivan -16 and Elizabeth -16 y.o. We moved to Montenegro 12 years ago and we love it. We are not very experienced in farming as we both are from a big city - St.Petersburg. So, we are still learning.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Russian, Serbian, English and Polish. You may have cheesemaking lessons with us as we produce more than 50 different cheeses. You may have a lot of fun with small goat kids, be close to a nature, enjoy hiking, breathtaking views and sunsets, Adriatic sea and a good food

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We discovered that depending of the season we have different tasks to be done.

    We are looking for a long-term people to shepherd goats. And long-term to build dry walls.

    We need to finish our cheesemaking house, paint our stables, make new fence for cows and goats, so we need handy people for this. We also plan this project to be water-saving, eco-friendly, sustainable.

    Every March we are looking for a strong team of people ready to experience the hardest and on the other side the most exiting time of the farmlife. The time when out goats bring kids.
    We will split into two shifts, as there will be three weeks of 5 milkings a day, starting from 5 a.m. and till midnight.
    Goat milking, feeding kids. Do you want to be a part of all that - contact us.

    April - we switch into 4 milkings a day, still making two shifts.

    From last week of April till end of summer - regular 3 milkings, and a lot of cheese!

    Summer time - a lot of burrata to be made, a lot of people coming, a lot of work and a lot of fun.

    We always need help in general housekeeping and cleaning.
    And we will appreciate if you share with us your experience in ecological living.
    We also realised, that goats and cows need time to get use to a new person, so we try not to accept a short-term travellers unless they bring us some unique knowledge.
    We have discovered that a farm stay is not for everyone.There are a lot of animals around, a lot of quite dirty work. We wake up early and work till night. It does not mean we work without breaks, we will keep it not more than 4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week, if we all work hard there will be enough time for you to explore this wonderful country and we will do our best to show it to you.
    One remark more - the internet signal is poor here, so we are limited in speed of our internet. There are places with good wi-fi nearby.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Serbian: Fluent
    Polish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    a camper van, a room in a house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are just 3 km from Adriatic beaches in a very peacefull village 20 km from Tivat airport. The nearest bus is 8 km from us, so this may be a problem, although hitch-hike is safe here and works well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would be happy to host digital nomads, although we don't have 27 Mbps and ping 70 ms

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The road can be complicated for a big van

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a lot of dogs and it very much depends on how friendly your dog is.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.1)

Host ref number: 935196261116