Help out on a small rural homestead in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire, USA


United States


Favourited 177 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host
  • Description


    My small rural solar homestead is in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire. I have an extensive garden of herbs, flowers and vegetables, chickens,and a wood lot. I do teas, tinctures, balms and cordials with the herbs and can and ferment the vegetables.You can participate in day to day living of a simple life. I have a list of helping experiences and you can choose what you would like to do, or what you would like to learn. Three hours of help a day will leave plenty of time for your own hobby or adventuring. Buses will go from New York City or Boston to Keene, NH once a day, where I can pick you up. Please look at the schedules so it works out for you. Uber has been used as an option too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about simple living, gardening, pruning, wood stacking, fermentation of kombucha and sauerkraut, making herbal concoctions. Learn about heating with wood. Experience berry pruning techniques and gardening skills. This is a hands on learning experience. Live the simple life, quiet and peaceful. Must be able to help independently and take instruction.

  • Help


    Winter is the snow and the frost time. I will accept short stays. Excellent place for people passing thru on their way somewhere. It is below 20 degrees most nights. Help with cleaning up some forest areas, moving rocks for walls, compost building and moving, cutting wood. Take care of chickens. There are always chores outdoors even when it is 0°, so be prepared. Opportunities to learn how to maintain a naturally oiled wood floor. Bake bread, make kombucha and teas and sauerkraut and keep the kitchen clean. This house hold is mostly vegan and eggs, and mostly no alcohol or drugs.
    I work often as the town librarian. So am are often out and you would have time on your own. Part of the time is kitchen and common room help and this would supplement the limited outdoor tasks. You may make your schedule.
    We have light carpentry projects in the works, which you may help on depending on where we are at with them. One is a chicken run, another a tiny house and a composting toilet room and insulating the barn. .
    In the cool times we heat with wood so the temperatures require sweaters and warm socks. The common space is warm, usually between 60 and 70 degrees, all bedrooms ( even mine) are unheated.
    . There are 2 couches, an ample table, a counter with stools and a comfy chair, so lots of room to hang out and work. I do have a 9 pm quiet and close the common room time. Most of us are up at 6 to get going for the day. In the spring, summer and fall I have wood to stack for the winter, gardening, berry picking and pruning, turning compost, small painting jobs, brush clearing and help with processing herbs and vegetables. Chickens and dogs need easy care too. If anyone is handy, they could build more cold frames. I need 3 hours a day or 21 hours a week. You may make your own schedule. I do short stays of a few days , up to a month.
    A note on the country biome : testing positive for dust, dirt, bugs, wild animals including bears, coyotes, moose, deer and bobcats.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Winter accommodation is a small sleeping cubby with a single bed. It is warm. My other spaces are on heated. They are as follows: The space is a private unfinished rustic room above a garage.This space is unheated. Also I have a room i rent out which I reserve and let workaways with good reviews stay in. A shower will be available around dinner time.. The space is accessed by open steps. It has a double futon with a feather bed on top of a frame ( and some of my storage along the edges of the space).. There is a van camping area and a 16 foot round tent platform to set up your tent on. The food is mostly vegan and eggs. Dogs are welcome when staying in the barn or a van, with the awareness that free range chickens are in the yard and that your pet will stay in your space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have to have your own transport, unless you want to hike, swim, and go to the library, which are all within walking distance. There is no public transportation. There can be a bike available. Contra dancing is within a mile. This area is about nature, music and community. I will ask if you want to join me in community events, feel free to accept or decline.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Host ref number: 694761579642