We love to host and meet new people and share experiences at our sustainable farm in Durnten, Switzerland.



Favourited 353 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We live in the German part of Switzerland in an old farmhouse built in 1732. We would love to host and meet new people and share experiences at our farm. We are Anna and Markus and we’ve been married for 25 years with two children. My daughter Rebecca recently became a registered nurse (we are very proud parents!) and she lives in Zurich. She visits us every other few weeks so hopefully you will meet her too. Our son Matthias on the other hand is currently in California for his studies. Markus is a farmer and I, Anna a trained gardener. We also have 3 sweet and lovely cats as part of our household

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about typical Swiss farm life and sustainable living. Anna is a passionate gardener and will share with you her knowledge of herbs, veggies, trees and flowers. Markus has been a farmer all his life and he can teach you all you need to know about working with cows and preparing the land such as building fences and preparing firewood.

  • Help


    We always need help in the farm. Between now and October, we are busy picking and storing fruits such as berries, apples, plums and pears for the winter. Our cows love to eat apples so we feed them a share of the harvest. At home, you will help us sort and cut fruits and vegetables, weeding, gardening, baking (we like to make our own bread) prepare meals and other normal tasks at home such as cleaning up after meals. Note that work is different all throughout the year and always depends on the season.

    You do not work on weekends so it’s yours to do as you please and of course you also have time in the afternoon and you can sunbathe in our garden (in the summer) go for hikes and walks or take the bus to see the other villages. If we are on our way to town, we will be more than happy to give you a lift so you can spend your time exploring and if our schedules match, we can also pick you up.

    We are passionate about fresh food and healthy eating so we will mostly eat vegetables and fruits that we grow in the garden or produce from our neighbours such as eggs and fresh milk. We like to know where our food comes from and how they are raised and prepared. We are not vegetarians but if you have certain dietary requirements, you just let me know and we can accommodate. We will provide all meals and we almost always eat together.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, French, English and a little Italian

  • Accommodation


    We have a lovely, bright and spacious bedroom waiting for you. It faces the morning sun so you will be woken up by the sunshine (when the weather is nice) and has a view of the garden. It has a standard double bed with a pull-out bed so it is great for a single Helper, a couple or friends traveling together. There is a bathroom on the first and second level that you will share with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is only a 30min train or bus ride from Zurich HB (central station) and only an hour to Luzern so you can easily visit these beautiful cities on your time off. There are also quaint and picturesque villages that are a short bus ride away such as Rapperswil (it's not very well-known but we (locals) think it's as pretty, if not prettier than Luzern) and a lot less touristy. There are many hiking and walking trails that offer great views of our village so there's plenty to discover on your free time and we are more than happy to suggest places of interest!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 928645845823