Come and have fun helping out around our home and garden in Tweed Valley, Australia



Favourited 187 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    I am Graham a father of three children with my eldest two living and travelling abroad. My youngest son, Jordan still lives with us. He is 17 and is in year 12 at school. We live on a 117 acre property in the beautiful Tweed valley of Northern New South Wales Australia.

    We have recently developed La Rochér, a boutique luxury eco retreat on our property.

    Our other baby is Bailey, a golden retriever. He loves swimming in our own dam and going for walks on the property. His favourite is heading to the beach for a swim.

    We are very relaxed, laugh and tease a lot. We love life and living here - our motto is to obey the most important rule of having fun in whatever you do.

    We go to church on the weekends, but most of the time are on the property. We have lots of friends who often visit from Brisbane and stay over, so socially the place can be quite busy ( not always though) . Needless to say, the peace and tranquility of the property is always here. It’s lour little piece of paradise and would love to share it with any young and not so young travellers. Ideally couples.

    I have travelled around the world quite extensively and can totally relate to the type of person applying to stay with us while travelling around.

    We are also well connected to our local community and would be able to introduce you to many peers of the same age. We would want your stay to be a fabulously enriching and fun experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our guests pay top dollar to stay here. You will be able to benefit from living Is this very beautiful location, a few minutes away from the world heritage site of mount Warning in exchange for work.

    You will be able to make use of our beautiful infinity edge pool, go for walks in our own forests, have access to bicycles for riding around the beautiful countryside. We have a spare utility vehicle that you can use as long as you pay for your own fuel. This will give you the freedom to explore the area and some of Australia’s best beaches and seaside towns such as Byron Bay. These range from 35 mins to 45 minutes drive. The area abounds with so many tourist attractions - quaint villages, rainforests, mountain walks, and as already mentioned the world class beaches

    We are also only 35 minutes away from the Gold Coast international airport. The Gold Coast is 45 Minutes away and surfers Paradise just over an hour away.

    You will see a very different side of Australia when staying here and be in contact with our beautiful rural community, meeting friends and neighbours.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for couple to assist with daily chores around our house and on the property. The overall property is on a 117 acres, of which a large portion is indigenous forest with beautiful walks. We have an infinity pool and 4 stand alone studio villas set in an extraordinarily beautiful country setting on. The views are exceptional. You would have full access to the pool and spa.

    My wife sadly has just lost her battle to cancer after a 20 year struggle. My 16yr old son and myself are therefore now short of those extra “hands” to help out with things such as gardening and general maintenance and minor carpentry works. No specific building skills required, but handymen/woman are appreciated.

    I May also ask with help of dropping off and collecting Jordy from school so a drivers license would help but not essential.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Our house is small and compact. You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed, desk, and cupboard. The room is small - 3x3m. Living would be in fairly close quarters so you would need to make sure that you are comfortable with this. There is however, lots of external areas where you can get plenty of privacy and find your own space.

    There is a single modern bathroom with a large shower, free standing bath and toilet. This will be shared by all and because we rely on our own water supply, use of the shower is preferred. Every now and then, soaking in the lux bath looking out into massive ghost gums is a treat not to be missed.

    There is free wifi and access to Netflix.

    We are flexible with meals, with breakfast and lunch working on a self serve basis. We generally aim to have more of a plant based diet , but are definitely not limited to this. Evening meals are our time together, but you would be free to have yours alone. As we share the main meal together, we would like you to help share cooking duties. We are happy to accommodate any specific dietary requirements.

    Food is provided by us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to do in the area. One can drive through ancient forest reserves, explore the stunning Border ranges parks, head down for whale watching and swimming at some of Australia’s best beaches. The clear blue waters and soft white sand are just so beautiful. We love to head down to the beach with our dogs.

    There are lots of local villages with their respective watering holes, restaurants, coffee shops, art galleries, a distillery, tropical fruit world worth visiting in the immediate area.

    For the younger and more energetic at heart there is the vibrant Gold Coast about an hour away.

    We would offer you all the advice you need to explore and experience this amazing part of Australia.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi that you can have free access to and are welcome to do your own thing or do extra off site work as long as you have done your hours. I am flexible and am happy to work around an arrangement that suits you.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park your campervan on our property. If you need to work on in to fix up or repair, we have a large array of tools that you would be welcome to use.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5-8 hours per day (max 25-35hours/week), 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 922624753474