Join me at my eco-cottage near Valmiera, North West Latvia

Country

Latvia

updated  

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired (65 y.o.) french cultural intellectual who has, through personal desire, chosen to live mostly alone in the Latvian countryside. It is a rather basic way of life compared to western European modernism, and it is my personal choice.
    My ongoing aspiration is to live an ecological life in harmony with nature ... If you would enjoy this way of living, come and share in the experience !

    My property is an old wooden cottage built in 1925, typical of northern countries, which is being renovated.
    I live in the least materialistic way possible, but do not worry : I have electricity, wifi, internet, stereo, microwave, and even a water pump in the well. ... I am not extreme in my way of living in simplicity.

    -----------

    Je suis un intellectuel retraité (65 ans) de culture française qui a choisi, par désir personnel, de vivre la plupart du temps seul, dans la campagne lettone. C'est un mode de vie plutôt basique comparé à celui du modernisme de l'Europe de l'ouest, et c'est un choix personnel.
    Mon désir est de vivre de manière écologique en harmonie avec la nature ... si cette manière de vivre vous attire, venez en partager l'expérience !

    Ma propriété consiste en un ensemble de bâtiments en bois construit en 1925, typique des pays du nord, qui est en cours de rénovation.
    Je vis de la manière la moins matérialiste possible, mais ne vous tracassez pas : j'ai l'éléctricité, le wifi, internet, la stéréo, un micro-ondes, et même une pompe à eau dans le puits ... je ne suis pas extrême dans ma manière de vivre dans la simplicité.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to welcome guests, listen to their discoveries and life experiences, and share with them the particularities of Latvian life and culture, mixed with my culture of French origin.

    I can teach my guests all aspects of the necessary renovations, so do not worry if you do not have any experience or training in these areas.
    If interested, I can also teach French or Latvian to my guests.
    And of course I'd be pleased to make music together whenever it is possible (I play bass guitar and have an electric piano and an accordion available).

    I'm primarily looking for guests with good French speaking ability, aged between 30 and 50 years old.
    I generally prefer stays for up to 3 weeks.
    But do not hesitate to contact me, even if you are outside these criteria !

    I don't issue any invitation letter for obtaining visas.
    -----------

    Je suis heureux d'accueillir des hôtes, d'être à l'écoute de leurs découvertes et aventures de vie, et de partager avec eux les spécificités de la vie et de la culture lettone, mélangés à ma culture d'origine francophone.

    Je peux enseigner à mes hôtes tous les aspects des travaux de rénovation nécessaires, ne vous tracassez donc pas si vous n'avez pas d'expérience ou de formation dans ces domaines.
    Je peux aussi enseigner le français ou le letton aux hôtes qui le désirent.
    Et bien sûr j'adorerais jouer de la musique ensemble si c'est possible (Je joue de la guitare basse et j'ai un piano électrique et un accordéon à disposition).

    Je cherche de préférence des hôtes de langue française, dans la tranche d'âge entre 30 et 50 ans.
    Je préfère un projet de séjour jusqu'à 3 semaines.
    N'hésitez toutefois pas à me contacter, même si vous êtes en dehors de ces critères !

    Je ne délivre aucune lettre d'invitation en vue de l'obtention de visas.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help in the final stages of restoring the house and its outbuildings. I have personal experience restoring houses, and can help and teach the work, but I am not as physically able as I used to be, so I need some extra help.
    Any skills that you have can be put to good use !

    I expect from the helper 25 hours of help per week spread over 5 days (weekends are free), in return for your own accommodation in a separate self-catering guest cottage (food is provided).
    I can teach you many things about house renovation. You'd also have ample opportunity of meeting with local Latvian people and engaging with the culture.

    I have bicycles/winter skis that you may borrow. I can also help to organise excursions for you. You have, of course, free internet use.

    -----------

    J'ai besoin d'aide pour finaliser la restauration de la maison et de ses dépendances. J'ai une expérience personnelle dans la restauration de maisons. Je peux aider ou enseigner le travail, mais je n'ai plus les capacités physiques, si bien que j'ai besoin d'aide extérieure.
    Toutes vos compétences peuvent y trouver leur place !

    J'attends de mes hôtes 25 heures de travail effectif par semaine, répartis sur 5 jours, avec les week-ends libres.
    Je vous propose en retour un chalet individuel où vous cuisinez vous-même (les ingrédients sont fournis).
    Je peux vous apprendre beaucoup de techniques de rénovation de maison. Vous aurez aussi de nombreuses possibilités de rencontrer les autochtones lettons et de partager leur culture.

    Je peux aussi vous prêter des vélos/skis de fond, et vous aider à organiser des excursions. Et bien sûr, l'usage d'internet est gratuit.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Dutch: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd be pleased to share with you my knowledge of French and Latvian. C'est un plaisir de partager avec vous ma connaissance du français et du letton.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My property consists of several wooden buildings, a well, a cellar-fridge, an outdoor toilet, two ponds and a wood-heated outdoor bathtub.
    The guest accommodation, in its own building, has a cooking/living/sleeping space. It's heated with a pellet stove. There is no running water. There are views across the ponds, fields and forests.
    The type of construction and my lifestyle are close to those of north-east Europe until the 1960s, at least in the Latvian countryside.
    The place here can offer you the chance of life reduced to the basics, with beautiful landscapes and night skies in the Latvian countryside, where you can really enjoy experiencing peace and real serenity.

    -----------

    Ma propriété est constituée de plusieurs bâtiments en bois, un puits, une cave-frigo, une toilette extérieure, deux étangs et une baignoire extérieure chauffée au bois.
    Le logement des hôtes consiste en un bâtiment séparé chauffé par un poêle à pellets. Il n'y a pas d'eau courante. La vue donne sur les étangs, les champs et les forêts.
    Le type de construction et mon style de vie sont proches de ceux du nord-est de l'Europe jusque dans les années 1960, en tout cas dans la campagne lettone.
    Le lieu peut vous offrir la possibilité d'une vie basique, dans les beaux paysages et les nuits étoilées de la campagne lettone, où vous pouvez vraiment expérimenter la paix et une réelle sérénité.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a beautiful region of Latvia, near the Gauja Natural Park, the old castles of Sigulda and Turaida, the Gauja River, Lake Burtnieki, the towns of Cesis and Valmiera, the mountain Zilaiskalns, the Salaca River and its cliffs.

    The bus stop is 600 m away, and the local shop is 2 km away.

    Guests can swim in the pond in summer, and go ice-skating or cross-country skiing in winter (I can lend the necessary equipment).

    -----------

    J'habite dans une belle région de Lettonie, près du parc naturel de la Gauja, des vieux chateaux de Sigulda et Turaida, de la rivière Gauja, du lac de Burtnieki, des villes de Cesis et Valmiera, de la montagne de Zilaiskalns, de la rivière Salaca et ses falaises.

    Il y a un arrêt d'autobus à 600 m, et un magasin à 2 km.

    Les hôtes peuvent nager dans l'étang en été, et faire du patinage sur glace ou du ski de fond en hiver (Je peux prêter l'équipement nécessaire).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 914822143414