Volunteer in central Portugal. Help with construction projects, harvesting olives, cutting firewood and with making jams and chutneys.

Country

Portugal

Favourited 535 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    84  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Angelika(65) and Christof(62) are living in an old shist-house at the edge of a village in the mountains.
    The house is completely restored with 5 rooms, 2 guestrooms, kitchen and bathroom with solar warm water.
    There is a small chicken-house, some sheds, a workshop and a garden with greenhouse, fruit and olive trees and a big variety of plants. There is another small house with three more rooms that needs a lot of renovation to be done, inside and out.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have good contacts to our portuguese and foreign neighbours and often help each other.
    We also take part in local events and do a part of our olive harvest together. There is a café and minimercado just 400m away from our house.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment there is mainly help required for construction work.
    The tasks in the garden are season-dependent: seeding, planting, weeding, harvesting and picking cherries, raspberries, grapes, kiwis, olives....
    In the house: making juices, jams and chutneys, cleaning etc.

    Christof is happy for each hand helping to do small repairs at the
    old building, putting insulation on one more roof, repairing fences,
    making firewood etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one guest room for 2 people and one single guest room.
    WLAN is accessable in the kitchen and in the single guest room.
    There is common use of our kitchen and the bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to come, please mail us in advance or give us a call.
    Work is 4-5 hours daily except for Sundays.
    We have bicycles, there are beautiful trails through the deserted mountains around as well as hiking and canoeing trails. You can also use our inflatable canoe and make a trip on the huge
    “barragem do Cabril”, which is 4 km away.
    There is a bus on Monday to Friday at 16:30 from Coimbra directly to Alvares, the bus stop is called Santa Margarida.
    There are also buses from Lisbon or Porto to Pedrogão Grande (20 km from here),
    where we can pick you up if you arrive late or on a weekend.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.7)




















































Host ref number: 895295182336