Come and help me finish up the barn in NSW, Australia




Favourited 30 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I’m an outgoing person, with a se se of humour , positive outlook on life even though I’m a full time carer, we have a wide circle of friends, and interests, I love snorkelling , travelling, and am easy going friendly, compassionate, my husband has dementia and I care for him at home, and yes though confined to bed and wheelchair we still take him out.

    Enjoy Uno , rummyking , scrabble , Texas Holdem , walk around the lake writing , movies, outings games night that is when I’m not resting from exhaustion ,

    Friends consider me a warm kind hearted person with a sense of humour and a good hugger , cooking is basic but would make sure you won’t starve . :) and value honest conversations

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’ve been a professional tour guide and able to offer intenaries both those hidden gems as well as the tourist main attractions , I’m a full time carer with a positive out look on life , you could if interested learn a new set of skills, and skill you up as a careworker , and show you how to turn your skills into a business in the industry , i do have my own careworkers who come in each day) I run Dementia Carers Australia support group And also have wonderful and diverse friends and friendships to share with You who Up for and willing to share experiences if available with you for the days I’m unable.

  • Help


    .WE ARE NOW TAKING BOOKINGS for 20/20 due to the huge success thus far of the wonderful
    Friends we have made and the difference they have made in our life , there are many options to choose from the small chores like gardening, household chores , decluttering or teaching me conversation language to The big jobs if your a gyprocker,gardening , Painter You could make an amazing difference by finishing of the barn and getting it ready for a full time live in which would help me better care for my husband. maybe your a mechanic? Could work on the Campervan? Which could be made available for your use ...or so we could have that one last camping trip

    THANK YOU ( a tradition has started naming some projects after our workaways like
    CRAFT ROOM cleaned and ready for use CHECK “ Jaspers Heart “
    FRONT GARDEN WALL completed CHECK “ Jacobs wall “
    Driveway completed CHECK
    Path to shed completed CHECK “ Colos Path”
    Fence and gate panel fixed completed CHECK
    Courtyard landscaped pavers and gravel completed CHECK “ Leo’s Lane “
    TAPS kitchen and laundry fixed completed CHECK

    Maybe cats are your thing, we have 4 indoor cats , that need to be fed and groomed Buttons TOM TOM who was found on neighbours doorstep, ELly May Black found dumped at Maccas and thinks she’s a dog , Blossom and of course Buttons always keen for a cuddle

    I’d love a chicken coop set up, or a vege garden a cat enclosure ? .....

    An electrician or plumber I can use anytime there is always something needing to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    THE LODGE adjacent to main house, own room can share main bathroom in the house or own bathroom in the barns, you have a spacious room , single bed, and with fold out Futon , aircon

    THE LOFT, currently not finished and cluttered but contained in Barn , insulated with air con but not cladded, separate from the main house, own full sized bathroom,kitchenette, fully furnished, king size bed, plus Divan and 3 available roll out beds full linen air conditioned

    ( shared main kitchen and laundry in main house )

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Too many options , close to transport. we are only about an hour to the city, or beach , 2 hours from mountains, and country ...for summer I know where the best natural water swimming holes are, for something under the water best snorkelling, what about a sunrise from a cave? Camping in a forest ? Can Connect and introduce you to my friends who like to travel have adventures, perhaps best eats? Whatever it is I’m sure I could point you in the right direction

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 158455455739

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more