Come and join a retired couple in Serta- Coimbra and Center, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 125 times
  • Last activity: 03/02/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are a couple of retired folk who decided life could begin at 70 and on our first visit to Portugal seven years ago fell in love with the place and its people. When we saw this place we immediately knew it was for us and bought it the next day. We returned to the North of Scotland sold our home of 30 years and did a 2,000-mile road trip through the UK France and Spain to our new home. That was over six years ago and we have no regrets. We have a Quinta with about one Hectare of land and forest which was formerly an equestrian property and have already established organic raised beds and are practicing our own brand of 'lasagne gardening' we plan to be as near to self-sufficient as we practical. We have established a polytunnel in one of the paddocks and want to generally improve the pathways and develop the grounds for our own safety as we get older. We also have many varieties of fruit that we plan to utilise, e.g. making organic cider vinegar......if the cider-making process goes wrong !!!! We try to preserve as much produce as possible from the tunnel, raised beds and garden areas, sun-drying tomatoes, and making preserves and sauces.
    We have two rescue cats, three rescue dogs who just love long daily walks along the forest tracks, and four rescue hens and cockerel ( Mr. Ordinary).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will gain experience of eco friendly rural living in a secluded and relaxed atmosphere but with mod cons. We are not an 'Off Grid' situation but are trying to live as close to nature as possible. We both have farming experience and extensive agricultural knowledge (I was a former staff member at the Durham college of Agriculture where we both also studied) we both love our vegetable cultivation and are presently experimenting and coming to terms with the different growing techniques for our present climatic situation. We also have experiences of living for many years on the remote outer islands of Orkney off the North Coast of Scotland and would be willing to share our knowledge of this. We also love music and still manage to play a little.

  • Help


    Development and maintenance of garden areas, maintenance of grass areas around the property, forest floor clearing, seasonal fruit, and olive harvesting, building repairs, painting and interior decorating, animal care and exercise, help with computers/Internet, cooking meals.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are trying to improve our Portuguese and would be delighted to have conversation practice if possible. We were both teachers and could help with any aspect of the English language in return.

  • Accommodation


    Two berth 'Vanroyce' caravan within the property grounds with limited electric, use of main house Summer Kitchen with gas cooker/oven, fridge and washing machine. Shower and toilet facilities are attached to the Summer Kitchen. There is a hard parking area near the main house for a camper van or caravan and soft ground for tents next to our caravan. We have unlimited internet in the house and caravan. We are situated 6km from the historic market town of Serta on the road towards the International water sports centre at Trizio. There are local cafes/bars within a couple of kilometres.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Due to Covid restrictions, we cannot offer our usual help to transport volunteers to our place until they join our 'Bio-bubble' more information regarding this is available on the application, however, we do fund a contracted taxi service on arrival to us from the local coach station in Serta. The scenery around Serta and surrounding mountains are varied and dramatic in places. The immediate area from our Quinta is a mixture of modern and very traditional houses where local people go about their daily routines as practiced by many former generations whose values are now sadly declining so quickly in the modern materialistic world in which we live. Helpers will get an insight into a fast-disappearing way of life and this position could be extended into a paid situation after the initial month if wanted.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    4G unlimited......The Internet is unlimited also in a 2 berth caravan.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size of van can be accommodated with linkup to limited electricity.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes by prior arrangement

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Usually 5 hours per day for full board.

Host ref number: 245979545824

Feedback (17)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help develop an organic garden and a beautiful landscape with sheep and chickens in Portugal
Come to us! Join the journey towards a self-sufficient life in Sao Pedro do Sul, Portugal