Come to our yoga ashram, helping in garden, house duties and have lots of Yoga and Meditations near Wellington, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 419 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    371

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear friends,
    We are a small Yoga Ashram near the beach and have two meditation huts in the garden available for someone to stay in, who would like to experience living in this environment. An ashram is a place for working on self-development and social harmony, through practising various kinds of yoga, including the exercises, relaxation & breathing techniques, meditation, selfless service (Karma Yoga), chanting and prayers. You would be able to benefit from all of these practices in exchange for a few hours of daily household duties such gardening, cleaning, office help, cooking (vegetarian) and other simple tasks which may arise day to day. Also some building if you have skills. We are setting up our vegetable garden and greenhouse, so we would need someone with gardening knowledge, how to look after organic vegetable garden (planning, growing seedlings, composting, watering gardens etc). After our 2 workawayers we had just now, we realising the cooking (vegetarian, no eggs) will be a big part of your daily duty at our ashram.
    We are looking for 1 or 2 people possibly for up to 1 month of staying here.
    The food is included twice a day, but you are welcome to use our kitchen and fridge which is in the main ashram building if you need to eat more times a day. We ask everyone to follow the vegetarian (no eggs) diet while being at our ashram. Since we are eating mostly pure organic food, we had to start charging small fee for the food contribution ($7 New Zealand dollars a day), please note this before sending us messages with request to stay at the ashram. During weekends we share the food preparations tasks.
    We are 5 min from the beach, which extends up the coast for 42km, so lot of walking can be done if you would like to. Also on the other side we are surrounded by hills, not very high but enough to have a good steep walk exercise. Generally it is very nice location here, only 1 hour driving from Wellington and yet with the feel of being outside the town in clean and quite environment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will meet lot of people here as we have about 70-100 students of Yoga and Meditation coming here every week. Our ashram manager is originally from Slovakia in case you are from Slovakia or Czech republic, we will understand your language here :)

  • Help

    Help

    We will need a help with day to day cleaning, gardening in our small back and front garden and if you have skills with computers you would be also useful in our ashram office should you wish. Any building skills are also appreciated to do some maintenance work on our buildings. Also cooking, meal preparations (vegetarian only please). A seance for details is most appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Slovak, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in our small but wonderful garden hut and/or one room in our main building. The huts are equipped with simple cooking facilities to heat up the meals if you need to, but cooking is done in our kitchen in the ashram. There is a shower in the garden with hot water, outdoor full functional toilet as well as drinking water.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only 1 hour from wellington, so if you would like to go and see the city of course you can, the train connection is very good. Otherwise lot of nice walks are here, long beach, public library, few shops to get the necessary things and much more.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more
    NZ$7 per day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 894994835775