updated  

Cultural exchange experience in Santa Cruz, California, USA

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I am Roger, a teacher, musician, and all around fun seeker! When not teaching I love to explore new countries, meet people from other cultures, play piano, dance, cook, hike, road trips, and volunteer. Most of all I love to make connections with friends and new people. I can be sarcastic, silly, and love to talk about almost anything.

    PLEASE NOTE -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I prefer to host people from outside the USA to get a cultural exchange experience for the both of us.

    Also, most of my WORKAWAY projects are from 1-2 weeks long. I can normally only host for up to 2 weeks. Sorry I can’t host for a month.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I would like some help with house projects (gardening, painting sometimes, small DIY projects, and cooking). You don't need to have specific skills, just a willingness to learn and help with house and yard projects.
    If you have cooking skills I may be more inclined to host you to help prepare food for a friends party at my house. Let me know if this is something you can do and we can talk.

    Help out in exchange for accommodations and food!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Doing projects together and alone is to be expected. I work during the week and come home in the evenings. I enjoy cooking together, playing games together (I have fun card games), sharing travel stories, and hanging out around Santa Cruz. I have a piano you can use.

    Santa Cruz is a wonderful town. My home is a 30 minute walk to the ocean. You will have access to a bicycle. The area has many small and larger beaches to explore, relax, and picnic at.

  • Help

    Help

    Help per workawayer is 4 hours a day (20 hours a week) of yard/housework help a week. If you get your hours in during the mornings, you will have all day and evening free each day to enjoy life in Santa Cruz! It would be great to cook dinners together when possible. So yard help, some painting projects, gardening, projects with wood, and house/kitchen cleaning would be the exchange for a bedroom, use of the house, and food.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with a queen sized bed, shelves, and an optional table and chair. I can host up to two people. The bathroom is shared. I have an inviting kitchen which will be fun for cooking. It's possible for me to host a couple or friends in the bedroom and one person on the couch in the living room if they agree to this in advance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you may surf (I don't have a board or wetsuit unfortunately), hike, take yoga classes, enjoy the sealife (seals, pelicans, sea otters, etc..), and enjoy the positive vibe in Santa Cruz. I live 3 blocks from the main street with shops, restaurants, and excellent people watching. It is also a short walk to the boardwalk, peer, and coast for walking and relaxing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 Hours a Week

Host ref number: 536734527775

Feedback (9)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)












Help our family with daily life, a wildflower garden project and more near Orlando, Florida, USA
Come live on our ranch on the big island in Keaau, Hawaii