Help on an organic family farm near Perth, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife and I live in the beautiful Perth Hills on a 2 hectare property 5 minutes from Kalamunda town side and 25 min from Perth. We're a small organic farm growing all different kinds of things. We're from European background living in Australia for over 30 years now, and speak English, Dutch and German and got 2 kids, our son Nic (27) and daughter Karina (24). We've had a lot of backpackers staying with us in the past and have plenty of space. Generally we need help with work in the house and garden and maintenance around the place. we also have an eco project , building a swimming pond and restoring an old cottage. And than we also produce our own wine.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about organic farming , wine making , building projects, and art projects. And learn how to manage a business and run a household at the same time. You'll be staying with a well traveled family with Dutch and German background who had travelers from France, Belgium, England, Estonia, Germany, Holland, Tanzania, Martinique and more. Petra's hobbies are pottery and art projects, and Harrie plays football, makes his own wine and loves building

  • Help

    Help

    There will be some general house work, cooking, gardening and building maintenance (painting etc.)
    There is always a variety of tasks to be done

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you would live with us in our house. We have 2 extra bedrooms with separate bathroom, and TV area

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 20km from the city of Perth and only 4km from the town of Kalamunda which has regular bus service to Perth. We live in an area with beautiful walk trails and bush-land. There are quit a few wineries and fruit orchids,
    if you like to do some extra paid work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 325931179949