Spend the Summer in Melbourne. Come help with house painting and housesit, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!... our family is myself, Annabelle, and my 15 year old son, Dylan. We also have a loveable mutt named Angel.

    We live in a leafy, inner north suburb of Melbourne in a renovated 1950s house. This is a family home, so it will suit you if you're looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful when you're at home.

    If you want cafes and nightlife, etc, the 'hipster area' of Melbourne - 'High Street' Thornbury - is only about 2 kms away. In fact, we're not far, in any direction, from good cafe's, pubs and public transport. Train to the city is 15 mins walk, or bus is one block away. The house has evaporative aircon... so it's cool in summer.

    The nearest beach is 40 minutes away, and there is a river about 25 minutes away that makes beautiful swimming in summer.

    We are going to be away in Adelaide for a month over summer having xmas with our family, from around mid December 2020 to mid January 2021. We're looking for a handy person/people to do some work around the house while Dylan and I are in Adelaide. (The pooch will come with us - couldn't possibly leave her behind.) There are a couple of ceilings to be painted. Some very minor plastering. Much weeding :) and garden maintenance. Possibly some painting of exterior walls/fences. Oh, and as it is hot in Melbourne over summer, definitely some watering of the garden.

    We have great unlimited internet. Netflix. Stan. A nice, light and airy three bedroom house. A small back garden and trees out front. You would have the house all to yourself, so it would be great if you have some references or feedback from a previous workaway experience... You need to be super reliable and self motivated for this workaway gig, please. We will be trusting you.

    Personally, I teach into the creative arts at a local university and I'm a writer/filmmaker. Dylan goes to the local high school. We have an electronic piano you are welcome to use. And a guitar.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I traveled alone a lot when I was younger so I get the excitement, and sometimes vulnerability, of being so far from home and we want you to feel comfortable and safe here. I have also traveled widely in Australia, so can talk with you about where to travel next, etc.

    We're excited to meet you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    'Odd jobs'. For example, I've been wanting to organize a sheltered outside area for our bikes. Some gardening. Some cleaning.

    You would be asked to help for 20-25 hours per week. I don't really care how that is shaped. For example you might want to do long days so that you have more days 'off'... but you need to be 100% reliable and a self starter. I'm happy to discuss this with you.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a big, airy private bedroom in the house. It has its own leafy entrance, and a little sitting area just outside. As we will be away you will have run of the house (except for our bedrooms of course) ... We have a very well stocked and equipped kitchen and a comfy lounge room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Melbourne is a great launching pad for the Great Ocean Road, the Grampians, Wilson's Prom, the surf coast and much more. Melbourne city has been frequently voted the world's most 'livable' city.

    We've had two workaway guests before and it has worked out really well both times. A great experience for all involved.

    kindly

    Annabelle

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A quiet dog would be welcome. There is a small park next door to our house and a larger park at the top of the street.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours per week.



Host ref number: 887888661492