Come and join our family in Squamish/Garibaldi Highlands, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Located in between two world class destinations; the mountain village of Whistler home of the 2010 Olympics and the seaside metropolis Vancouver, BC ... we would like to invite you into our home in a small town that identifies as "the Adventure Capital of Canada". We hope to share some culture, stories, experiences and life with you. Whether you are a city or country person... Squamish offers you the best of both worlds and you can commute to either OR find loads to do right at our doorstep here.

    Joining us you can find yourself spending part of your day caring for two children aged 11 and 14, doing light house work, some meal prep and general help around the house.

    We are a family of three and have interest in: Skiing (downhill, bc & xc), soccer, dance, gymnastics, camping, biking, running, SUP, hiking.. the adventure list goes on.
    We can also be found baking, drawing, reading, watching movies, playing video games, crafting, puzzling...
    and open to learning much more.


    We have... before Covid... typically spent at least a month traveling each year. So, we hope you will bring travel to us with your stories & knowledge of another place. We would like to learn Spanish.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    WE love to travel! We love to meet new people and share our culture, learn about theirs, learn new languages and ways. I was an exchange student and spent a year abroad. My daughter is now looking to do the same. I believe it is an amazing way to learn, share and work together.

  • Help

    Help

    I am hoping that you will join our family and be there as a natural addition to the household. Participating and joining in where needed in addition to essential help with the children before and after school.
    Mornings will require: breakfast prep, tidy up, prepare lunch bags for school, keep children on schedule to get dressed, brush teeth/hair, pack bag and ready to get to school.
    After school: Clean lunch kits. Oversee chores & school tidy up (done by children). Homework. Prepare for any after school activities.
    - ** limit digital screen time Monday to Friday (school days).
    Take the time to interact with the children and tap into the many hobbies and activities they (and hopefully you) enjoy.
    Evening help: prepare dinner & tidy up. Manage bath times, reading time, etc...

    OTHER: general light cleaning... vacuum, dust, wipe down bathrooms, laundry, ... general tidy up.
    MEALS: the majority will be pre-prepared or with a menu/ingredients set out for you to throw together. I dont expect a full chef!!!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and own bathroom.
    Bright room, fully furnished. A quiet, calm place for you to enjoy ... although we hope that you will feel comfortable join us as much as possible.
    We have a yard and are close to the shops as well as nature trails.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is sooo much to do here. We go to the city (Vancouver) at least once a week and try to go to the mountains once a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 884172382389