Come help us with seasonal chores in the mountains in Myoko, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Japanese/Australian couple who are coming towards the end of renovating our house but still need help in setting it up for the winter ahead. We will also need help during the winter. Myoko Kogen is famous for its powder snow and there will be ample time for skiing/boarding come December.

    We moved to the mountains of Japan, not just for the winter snow, but for a life of clean air and experiences that the other 3 seasons also afford. You'll find great hiking and biking close by. There are tennis courts behind us and a golf course around the corner.

    We have both worked in tourism for many years and as such, we enjoy meeting (and look forward to hosting) self-motivated, positive, and respectful travellers and hearing of their travels and experiences.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying with us in Myoko Kogen will give you the opportunity to learn about Japanese culture, language and cuisine. For skiers and snowboarders, it is a powder paradise with huge snowfalls each winter.

    We speak English and Japanese at home and so there is the opportunity to learn a bit of Japanese (cooking as well as language) and our town/region attracts people from all over the world in winter who come in search of that powder snow!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a couple or solo traveller who are/is engaged, dynamic, open-minded, responsible, communicative, tidy and honest. Duties will include general maintenance, help around the house, snow clearing and assistance with renovations.

    Ideally, we would like a couple who are prepared to stay for a month or more.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private Japanese room in the loft with futon beds, internet access, shared bathroom and toilet, shared kitchen and living space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are flexible, so during your time off, you are free to go skiing/snowboarding /mountain biking/ hiking.
    Explore the open spaces and culture of rural Japan. Oh and the powder snow!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 877314594196