Help us on our active family horse farm just outside Rockhampton QLD, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 296 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Australian horse farm- so horse experience is essential as well as a love for animals, getting dirty!
    Family of four.
    One Boy- Eddie 7 years and one Girl Olivia age 9 years, myself Nicky age 39 Ben aged 38.
    Don't apply if you are unable to physically work outdoors, vegetarian or dislike amimals! We live in QLD it can be quite warm, but rewarding!

    We are a farming family and outdoors family who like being creative, happy and energetic about life. We work hard then we play. We take our work away applicants seriously as they become part of the family while they are with us and work with us, independently and also with the kids.

    We have horse Agistment clients who leave their horses here on the farm and come and go as they please. We also run a riding school during the week and a petting farm for visitors and for disabled children and adults to come and interact and enjoy- there is always a project happening, thus we love a helping hand.

    We enjoy time with the kids and the simple things in life like taking the kids for a pony ride or a swim in the dam or a picnic under a tree, going to the beach to collect shells and build sand castles and collecting crabs. The kids run free on the property in bare feet and minimal clothing, the bliss of childhood as it should be. We have many animals we look after and they are a big part of our life. We do town activities such as, pony club, choir, swimming lessons, sewing class, yoga, rugby, netball and the library which our work away helpers are invited to come along to if they would like. My children attend the local little country school just up the road and therefor my work away helper does the daily jobs of attending to the animals in the mornings and afternoons as well as sometimes jumping in on what ever needs to be done like mowing the lawn, cleaning the pool, fixing a fence etc.

    My husband works away a fair bit as he is a horse dentist so I have to run the property and look after house, garden, animals and the children. I have horse clients who come every day to ride their own horses as well as run a riding school for children and adults, and the petting farm with all the baby farm animals, so we are use to people and you won't get bored. We live on about 104 Acres right outside Gracemere and only 10 minutes from our major center Rockhampton. The best way to get here is bus, train or fly. Its a major centre.

    We are a nonsmoking and drug free household. We try to encourage a healthy lifestyle for our children and are trying to bring our children up to be polite, independent, respectful and compassionate. I love what backpackers bring to our family, the new ideas, skills and talents and I would love you to enrich my children, family and farm with yours.

    I look forward to hearing from you if you think farm life could be a good fit.
    The horses, other animals and children are waiting to meet you xx

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A fair dinkum Aussie horse farming family with lots of other farm animals. We work a lot with disabilities giving the farm opportunity.

  • Help

    Help

    WANTED- 1- 2 English speaking backpacker- HORSE EXPERIENCE ESSENTIAL, love for animals a MUST and ability to work outdoors.
    WHERE- ROCKHAMPTON QLD
    WHEN- Every month
    WHAT- (we will work with your interests and your strengths but you will work with the horses and animals a majority of the time).
    INFO- a family of 4 on a 100 acre horse Agistment property with heaps of cool things to do in your free time, 10 min from rocky. 2 min from gracemere, 40 min from the beach!
    There is a Self contained granny flat, you are supplied breakfast, morning tea, afternoon tea and lunch to have in your house and then I cook everyone dinner in the big house.
    You can ride horses, swim in the lagoon- when there is water in there, chill in the garden with the kids or explore the creek or local towns in your free time. We sometimes take our petting farm on the road for the day locally to events so you will meet some amazing people and see some cool things
    WHATS REQUIRED- a good attitude, INITIATIVE, a willingness to work, a good heart and a helping hand, not afraid of getting dirty and sweaty, a Love for animals and farm life.
    Pm me if you are interested.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a fully self contained granny flat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Rockhampton is a major centre for the Central Queensland area and has many beautiful places to see and explore. We are only 45min from the beach. Rocky has great night life, beautiful gardens, caves, cafes, a free zoo and an airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We tailor it around the heat and also to what's on. (maximum 25 hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 523885856733