Experience family life in the beautiful Southern Jutland, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1719

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 28 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dear all

    We receive visitors, but we also take corona seriously. My children have asthma, and we have old relatives. So we are careful and will ask you to be careful too, while living with us.

    We only accept short term stays at the beginning, from 1-14 days. Sometimes the chemistry is really good, and we will be happy to prolong your stay. But I can not guarantee a long term stay, until we have met.

    The job in our place is daily house hold like cooking and cleaning and help with the animals. And teaching my youngest daughter (who is 12) Math - she needs some help with her school work, and/or your language on beginner's level. Please bring some teaching materials for your language, since we don't have any. We can teach you Danish the other way around, if you like.

    The tasks are, currently, mainly a farm stay:
    We have a friend nearby (2,3 km away), who has a big farm with horses. She needs very much help with her horse farm at the moment - especially painting the farm buildings and garden work, some thatcher's work and whatever you can help with on a horsefarm. (Not so much the horses - she needs help with the other tasks, so she can have more time to train her horses).
    So about 1 hour pr. day will be helping in our house, and the rest of the time (4 hours pr. day 5 days a week), you will spend helping her with her farm. She is a very nice and exciting lady, living vegetarian and with very much focus on ecology and animal welfare. if you are interested in horses, she is the best, and you will learn from her.
    Keeping a farm is hard work - I just warn you, so even the farmer is nice and the farm is beautiful and in beautiful surroundings, you will probably be dirty and sweaty, before you are free to go sight seeing, hiking, swimming in the sea or whatever else, you would like to do (borrowing a horse from the farmer might also be an option).

    We prefer couples, friends or workawayers, who are very independent, since I don't have very much time currently to talk and show you the area. We have some rusty bikes, you can borrow, but most of the transport will be hiking, public transport, or you can borrow my car (just fill it up again after, diesel) and take some sight seeing trips in the area, when I don't use it for work.
    When we go somewhere as a family, you are of course welcome. But currently, I am new in my full time job, law student, mother - so unfortunately I don't have the time to drive you around. I will love to meet you around the dinner table and to spend time, when there is not so much to do in my job. But being independent is a must, currently, if you will have a good time in our family.

    We usually feed the animals about 6.30, have breakfast at 7 am and then take care of our work and studies.
    The farm work is sometimes in the early day time, sometimes in the afternoon, when the farmer is free from work. It is quite flexible, so I expect, you and the farmer make your own appointments about the work and working hours.

    We live in a village called Varnæs in the southern part of Jutland, Denmark, near the German border. There is bus connection to Aabenraa and Sønderborg, and a beautiful landscape with beaches and forests in the back yard.

    It's a good place to hike, if you like the Danish nature. And you can always use us as a base, while you take trips to different places in Denmark or North Germany.

    I am a single mother, who work as a pastor in the Lutheran church and study master in Law part time. My three daughters are 19, 16 and 12. The eldest has moved to Copenhagen to study. The second will go to high school in Malaysia 2020/2021. The youngest lives with me. My boyfriend lives with us some of the time, when he is not at work in Faroe Islands.

    We are an active and creative family, who like music, hiking, travelling and new experiences. We are nice and flexible.
    We don't have a specific project. But I am not very organised and handy, so I could use some practical help with household tasks, organizing stuff, and improving our home with e.g. woodwork and sewing (My daughter would love to learn some practical skills from you. She is very nice and speaks English).

    If I or Marianne at the farm don't need help, I will be glad, if you can give a hand to my very nice older parents (my mother is 69 and has partially lost her sight, and my father is 78) and my grandmother (who is 97 years old). They live nearby and are taking care of house and garden themselves. They always could need a helping hand with house and garden. They speak English and German.

    You will be welcomed as a member of the family, while living here. If you want, we will be happy to introduce you to hobbies and activities in the cities nearby, according to your wishes.
    You can be as private as you want. Some might only need a bed, and take care of themselves, when the practical tasks are done. Others might want to be a part of our family and activities.

    We serve all kinds of foods, including vegetarian. As a single mother I don't have much money, so we live on a low budget, but you are welcome to share what is ours, while living with us.

    We have rabbits, dwarf hamster, cat and horse.

    We look forward to meet you :-)

    Best regards Sidsel (mother) and Signe (youngest daughter), Jens Kartin (boyfriend) and Marianne (farmer)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a funny, warm and engaged family, who know a lot of people and can help you getting a network here.
    We live close to the nature and to public transports, so you will be able to go out and see a lot of things easily. We can help you finding good tours.

    We are adventurous and would love to learn about your culture, and teach you about ours, if you like. We live close to the German border in a rural area with "typically" Danish families. Through my job and our neighborhood, you will meet the Danish culture. If you want, you are welcome to participate in the activities around the church, where I am a pastor. It is mainly sunday services, but also some teaching, visiting people, meetings etc. Being a Christian is NOT necessary to stay with our family - we are a pastor's family, but we love diversity and the cultural exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    Painting the buildings inside and outside, doing garden help, all kinds of hand crafts and maintenance of the farm.

    Depends on, what you can and want to help with.
    Housework like cleaning and tidying up, painting walls, cleaning rabbit cages, sewing curtains, helping my parents and grandmother with their home. Sometimes other tasks for friends who need a hand, but only after appointment with you.

    If you have some practical or artificial skills, you would like to teach my daughter, she would love to learn something new.

    We are flexible, so you can make your tasks whenever on the day is most comfortable for you. You can do them alone or together with us, as you like.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Faroese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A one or two bed rooms, where you can withdraw and have some privacy. If you come two or more, we will find extra mattresses for you.
    We are quite flexible, as long as you smoke outside and are not extremely noisy. (You are welcome to practise any instrument and invite friends, but not so welcome to play loud music very often, since we like quietness).

    We live in a big old parsonage from 1779 with a huge garden. The gardener from the church is cutting the grass. We live on a road 10 min. walk from the village, where there are busses. We also have a car and can help you with transport for catching trains and busses. When I don't use the car, you can borrow it, but please pay for the fuel. There are many nice places to hike in our area.

    We eat breakfast together at 7 am, before the children go to school. Lunch when we are hungry (usually about 12-13 and dinner about 6 pm. We like to make healthy and green food, mainly vegetarian. We are very flexible about your needs. If you want expensive foods, please help with buying foods sometimes, since we live on a low budget.

    My youngest daughter comes home from school about 3 pm. I study and work at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus close to, where we live. We can also bring you to the bus- or train station, so you can get around. It is also possible to rent a cheap car. I have a car myself, so I will be glad to drive you on tours, when I don't have too much work. If you like horse riding, culture, night life or whatever, I can help you getting around and finding the programmes and good places to go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Right now, it is only possible to use our internet in the livingroom and kitchen, and in my office, where I am working. I am working to solve the problem... I work from home, study from home, and it is fine with me, if you need to do work from home as well. I will write back, when the internet connection problem is solved.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a park place outside our parsonage with place for app 3-4 cars. So it should be possible for a normal campervan or a motorhome to stay there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week- food

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Host ref number: 239722881951