Cultural and language exchange with a fun loving bilingual Japanese family in Okayama, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 495 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with three children ages 3 to 8. I am australian and my wife is Japanese. My wife is running English-language lessons. We want friendly, outgoing English speakers to help her teach kids and adults in the lessons. You don't need to be native English speakers but must be very fluent and confident. Also do some cleaning in the house and help look after the kids. There is some renovation work to do, if that's your thing. Or help with social media etc. Whatever you're
    good at... Accommodation in exchange for these tasks. You will have your own room, or share a room if there are two of you. Meals are your responsibility (there is a kitchen, fridge etc for your use). We need a total of 20 hours a week per person. The house is on the water at Hinase, Okayama. It is a three-storey building, 5 minutes walk from Hinase Station.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can see life in a smallish city in Japan, learn some Japanese from a bilingual family and have fun teaching Japanese to speak English. Hinase is a different side of Japan than the big cities, so the cultural experience is much more authentic. Having English speakers on hand will also help you ease into life in Japan.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping my wife run her English lessons. The people who enjoy it most have outgoing personalities. You don't need experience; just be willing to talk English and have fun. Also helping clean the house (wash dishes, vacuum floors etc). Or renovation, or social media, or whatever you're good at.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private room in a three-storey house on the water at Hinase.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are ferries to the islands from the harbour in front of the house. Bikes are available for rent to get around. The station is close and Osaka is two hours by local train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I work remotely myself. We have good internet. Hours are fairly flexible

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
































Host ref number: 875839792362