Small hostel in Windhoek with a family-like atmosphere looking for help, Namibia

Country

Namibia

Favourited 412 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    546

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our Backpackers is a small hostel in Windhoek with a very family like atmosphere. It is very close to the City Centre, just 10-15 minutes walking distance. Most of the guests are longterm guests who stay here between 3 months and 1 year. Therefore it feels more like living in a shared house than in a hostel.

    I was running it with my husband. But we are separated and now I am doing it alone. Therefore I really need some help. Especially during Christmas time and from May to August is when we need some help. But even during the other months of the year it would be fine to have someone who can help. I am not so much interested in work awayers who want to come for 1 week or 2. The minimum to stay here is 3 weeks and more. It takes a bit of time to learn the things so it does not make sense to show someone the work and after learning it the volunteer is gone.

    Sometimes we have local interns who are studying tourism who need to do internships who are helping out. We have a big pool and a garden that also needs a lot of attention. A gardener is coming once a week. We have a cat and a dog. The dog likes to be taken out once a day which I cannot always manage but I try to take her out at least 4-5 times a week.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    The work would be to attend to the guests requests, check in and out. Make bookings and reservations. On the weekends sometimes beds have to be taken off and made new as the cleaner is off on the weekends. Sometimes prepare some breakfast, take the dog out, go shopping, make payments. Repair some little things like exchanging bulbs. You should have a driver license and be an experienced driver. You should not be afraid to drive on the left side. I'm also very happy about people who can keep our social media profile up to date.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German any other language is welcome

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If possible you will have your own room. But sometimes it's not possible then you would have to share a dormitory with other guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If there is a possibility you can join others to visit the typical attractions in Namibia while beeing here. The guests normally travel over the week ends and they rent cars and go by themselves. So there would be possibilities to join them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We do not have an hour schedule and we are open during 7 days a week Maximum 25 hours a week volunteering







Host ref number: 875754923297