Scottish culture, nature connection and home-schooling in Fife, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/06/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small homeschooling family of two - my son is 14 years old, very engaging and mature and also full of fun and likes meeting people. We have chickens, a dog and a cat. We live in a small hamlet and are connected to many community projects. We live simply in a quiet place and our weeks are always full of things to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about Coyote mentoring, NVC (non violent communication), community building, home-schooling, Scottish culture and environmental-social issues. I am well travelled and have set up and been involved in interesting projects for many years. I have travelled in Scotland a lot too and can share my knowledge.

  • Help

    Help

    General help at home with housework and cooking and maybe some outdoor jobs but hanging out with me and my home-schooled teenage son, playing games and exchanging language, culture and world views is more important.
    One-two days a week in school term you can get experience of an outdoor teenage mentoring project for home-schoolers. You will have a lot of fun, and see beautiful places in Fife and other areas of Scotland. Its often quite physical, walking and hill climbing but can be traditional crafts and cooking around the fire. Must be curious about nature and ourselves!
    There is also an opportunity to volunteer at an Earthship, an eco building made from car tyres, which I set up in 2002. Its situated on a beautiful Lochside farm on the coast about 30 mins from home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a spare bedroom with shared living, kitchen and bathroom. We also have a large garden and live very rurally if you want to camp outside. We will share an evening meal together - the cooking and the eating. For breakfast and lunch we will share the costs and shopping, we want to be relaxed about it. Any diets are okay here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Edinburgh is a one hour train journey, Perth 30 minutes, Dundee 20 minutes. Our nearest train station is 10 mins by car, and there is a bus link. We are often going out so happy to help with lifts and show you around if you prefer that.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 875112346539