Mountain Sanctuary calls for your participation and energy, Atherton Tablelands, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    533

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there

    We are on a Hectre of east facing land with lots of lawn and open spaces. The house is large and divided into 2 living spaces and I take care of one half and a a dear friend lives in the other.

    Accomodation is usually a private bedroom, sometimes a mattress in the lounge, and hope fully there will be a caravan on site soon.

    There is a big garden here and that is where most of the work is (so it can be quite messy and hands on - so you have to love the mud and getting amongst nature) but sometimes it just a bit of house work and general cleaning. We have some building projects this year and we would love your help with that too.

    Please let us know your skill set up front and what you are interested in doing while you are here. If you have a trade qualification please let us know.

    I am very easy going and relaxed by nature and being halfway through my life means I have many years experience with fools and liars. So if you are applying for unauthentic reasons, don't bother. If you can't look after yourself, be trustworthy and mindful of others, make a bed, work hard, ask questions, empower yourself, this is not the place for you. The land will spit you out about 3 hours before I will.

    The place operates on respect, honesty and fair good work. If you don't think you can put your heart and soul into this, don't contact me.

    Projects that are up-coming and on-going are:
    Gardening
    Wood chopping
    House Maintenance and cleaning
    Painting
    Fixing fences

    This is a great place for you to:
    - Stay a few days and help out with the on-going jobs, and a good base to find yourself work up here on the farms.
    - Stay a few weeks and do the same as above.
    - If you have a project to complete (build a trailer, write a book, create a sculpture) stay the length of the project that you need to complete (we have a shed full of tools and lots of space to develop and build)

    I anticipate about 22 to 25 hours a week and it can be in any arrangement that suits you, if you want to do 22 hours in 4 days and have 3 days to yourself that is fine with us.

    I will supply great food and cozy accommodation. Breakfast is help yourself. I will provide/cook most lunch and dinner meals - especially on work days. However I like the idea of you cooking some meals too and also feeling like you can help yourself to the kitchen when you want. And when I say kitchen, it is kinda a half inside half outside kitchen. We cook a lot on the outdoor fire. We have gas cook tops but no "house oven" to speak of, no micro wave either. You can bro that if you like!

    If you prefer to supply and make your own food that is fine too, and naturally the hours of energy exchange can also be negotiated based on that.

    We expect a sense of community-mindedness (is that even a word??) in regards to mess, returning things to where they came from, emptying ashtrays if you are a smoker. i.e so keep the bathroom clean, do your dishes your own washing, take rubbish to the bins - normal things you would do at your home. These jobs are not part of the exchange, they are just common sense and common courtesy.

    We don't have internet other than our phones. The signal is reasonable up here. Enough to watch and down load movies. No signal for Optus, but Telstra is reasonable.

    Here is a hint for all of Australia - when you get a sim card, get TELSTRA (or BELONG, BOOST). They have more coverage in Australia than any other carriers.

    We don't mind if you smoke, we just don't allow it in the house, and we ask that you empty your ashtrays regularly (and not in the house bin) so it does not stink.

    At the heart of all we do is: art, experimentation, thinking outside the square, fun and learning. If you understand that 1+1=3, you will enjoy being here. If you understand that 1+1 = 2 you will also love it here and maybe learn a little more than you were expecting.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers are offered an easy relaxed way of living, great round table conversations, access to our valuable networks and connections to local and global opportunities. Learning, knowledge, great food, laughter, spirited experiences, tours of local waterfalls, lakes and natural attractions.

  • Help

    Help

    I think I covered this above. People who love the outdoors and working in gardens, building, creating, inventing, solving.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Mixture, private bedroom, mattress in the lounge next to the open fire, hammock on the deck if the weather is right.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So much to see and do here, especially if you are into nature.

    There is a river to the south end of the road and an historical pub at the north end of the road. We are in the middle! Water falls, hot springs, national parks, organic farms, out door music festivals, rodeos, theatre, live entertainment. We are 1 hour 15 minutes to Cairns international airport. We are 5 kms from the local town of Malanda.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours per week

Tiny house building
tree kangaroo in the front garden
just chilling
the trench diggers
Mango harvest and chutney making
cooking up a storm in the kitchen
Just finished mowing in time for sunset
painting to music makes it go very fast
Look our own personal rainbow
Sunrise over the 2 tallest mountains in QLD
Accomodation in the loft
Jacob and all his mates
Dinner time yum!






Host ref number: 873497654829