Native English speaker welcome to join our family near Rome, Italy

  • Favourited 16 times
  • Last activity: 22 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!
    I am Viola, a researcher with a Ph.D. in physics, and with my kids Allegra (13 years) and Filippo (9 years) and two dachshund dogs, we live a kind and colorful life in a lovely village in the hills South of Rome, close to nature. Our home, complete with a small garden, provides a warm and welcoming environment.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our location allows for easy exploration of the Tuscolo hill, a beautiful natural feature with a ruined Roman city within walking distance of our home. We also take advantage of the nearby Lake Castel Gandolfo, where you can enjoy playing tennis, kayaking, or cycling around the lake. The historic center of Rome is 20’ by train from the Frascati train station.
    We love horses, and Allegra actively participates in competitive equestrian sports with her pony, Freccia (literally Arrow), at a riding school just 15 minutes away from our home. This offers a wonderful opportunity for you to learn horseback riding through private lessons!
    Whenever our schedules allow, we enjoy attending operas, visiting museums, and exploring the never-ending cultural sights of Rome and its region. On weekends that are not occupied with Allegra's competitions, we also enjoy exploring the charming villages and towns in the vicinity of Rome. At every turn, you'll find rich historical gems, breathtaking natural beauty waiting to be discovered, and amazing food at quaint little Italian restaurants.
    We cook delicious food and offer a true cultural Italian experience.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I would appreciate your assistance with the children, rather than housework. Occasionally, it would be helpful if you could prepare dinner if I return late from work or from playing tennis. I would also need help, not every day, with picking up the kids from school (Allegra finishes at 13/14, and Filippo at 16:30) or taking them to their sports activities. But our schedule will be planned week by week based on our commitments. You would have access to our car. We are looking for someone open and affectionate, who can adapt to our busy life. You would have mornings and several afternoons free, as well as the use of a car. We are looking for a responsible, patient, and proactive person.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I truly desire for the children to learn how to adapt and communicate in English, even at a basic level, through shared life experiences.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home, complete with a small garden, provides a warm environment. We offer the lower ground floor which is an open space with a private bathroom for our guests, along with a well-equipped kitchenette. The kitchenette includes a refrigerator, hotplates, a toaster, and a coffee machine for your convenience. The living space is spacious, featuring a comfortable sleeper sofa. The bathroom is for your own use while the laundry area, present on the same floor, is to be shared with us. You will, of course, have the opportunity to use the entire house, especially the central floor, which serves as the living area.
    Additionally, we have a piano available for music enthusiasts. I also have a passion for painting, and there is a dedicated space for art and creativity.
    Our breakfasts are typically quick due to busy morning routines. As for lunch, it's usually an individual matter during the week. Filippo is at school, Allegra is usually with her grandparents, and I am at work. In the evenings, you will be welcome to join us for dinner, providing opportunities to share moments with the family. We make an effort to go to bed early during the week, around 9:30-10 PM. Occasionally, after dinner, we may watch a movie together, but this is entirely optional!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is in a residential area, so you would need a car for grocery shopping or to explore the nearby towns, including Grottaferrata. It would also be necessary to pick up and drop off the kids from school. We would appreciate your willingness to communicate in English (Allegra understands and speaks English, but Filippo does not).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a garage to park your car if needed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 814784545529

Feedback

Join our family in a farmhouse surrounded by a natural area with several hectares of forest in Ampezzo, Italy
Help teach Spanish / German or improve English to a child in Montichiari, on Lake Garda, in Italy