Help build a cabin close to Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 120 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi and thanks for your interest in helping with this project!

    We are a family of two: me - architect in mid-forties and my 13 y.o. son. We live in Oslo and enjoy spending time in nature and using our hands.

    We bought this property in 2015. It was abandoned for years and in really bad shape, so the fist two years we worked with cleaning and clearing and doing basic repairs so that the cabin is habitable. In the meantime I applied for a permit to renovate and extend.

    In 2018 two fantastic engineering students from Toulouse did a three-month internship at the cabin and finished the new foundations! April - June 2019 another two students from the same school will come and we will start with timber framing.

    So help is needed after the end of June with continuing the construction work. The framing will probably be done by the end of June, so it will be cladding and roofing July - September and then the finishes. Plumbing and electrical will be done by local professionals.

    Looking for volunteers with at least basic carpentry skills and some experience with construction, who can stay at least three weeks. I will be commuting between Oslo and the cabin on most of the days, so the ability to organise and work independently is required.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This volunteering opportunity is suitable for persons who like to be close to nature, and don´t mind basic accommodation or getting their hands dirty. Looking for mature and easy-going individuals who are independent, resourceful, and have good personal hygiene.

    There are hiking, kayaking, swimming and fishing opportunities in the area. There are bicycles at the cabin.

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks from the beginning of July and for the next 2-3 months will be framing and cladding the new cabin.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The standard of living at the cabin is basic. There is electricity, a compost toilet, and cold running water. NO SHOWER OR RUNNING HOT WATER as of now - but this will probably be installed in the spring. There is one bedroom and a living/eating area with a sofabed and an extra bed.

    The kitchen is equipped with all you need to prepare meals - fridge, oven, stovetop and utensils. You will be responsible for preparing your meals. I am flexible in terms of covering food expenses or not according to workhours. Workaway proposes 15hours per week for only accommodation, and 25hours if food is included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The cabin is located between the town of Vestby and the village of Hvitsten on the Oslo fjord. The train to Oslo stops in Vestby (runs every hour and takes 35 minutes to Oslo). There is a bus from the train station that stops close to the cabin (a 10-15 minute walk from the bus station to the cabin).

    Vestby has supermarkets and a shopping mall. Hvitsten is a serene summer place with good fishing spots and swimming when it gets warm. It is about 10 minutes with the bicycle to either Hvitsten or Vestby.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours a week

The cabin nested in nature, basic but cosy!
Area outside the cabin
Living area with sofabed
Eating area in the cabin
The compost toilet
Marshmallow time - my son and one of his friends visiting
A dream catcher that Claudio, one of the volunteers, made last summer. He said he slept very well at the cabin:-)
On the way from the bus stop to the cabin
Fishing in the Oslo Fjord, nearby the cabin
Me and my son
Rasberries in August




Host ref number: 872995919588