Join in with family life and help us with a couple of small projects in the countryside just outside Cork city, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    76

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are an Irish/German family of four living in a small old farmyard in the countryside just outside Cork city. We have been rebuilding and renovating the house and outbuildings with care and respect for history and the environment. We have hens, chicks, bees, vegetable beds, fruit trees and bushes, 150 year old trees and ruins, wood stove, a cat and a beautiful garden. We would be delighted with someone who could help with some of these!

    We are only twenty minutes by bike from Cork City Centre, which Lonely Planet picked as one of the top ten cities to visit in the world in 2010.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to include you in our family activities/ interests. Rob is a teacher in an intellectual disabilities school and sings in a choir, drums with a samba band and surfs when he can! Sandra is also a teacher and does yoga, beekeeping and gardening. Mia is 11 and loves Irish dancing, painting and camogie (Irish sport a bit like hockey). Elise, 10, is also a drummer, camogie player and loves baking and surfing.

    We are happy to speak English, German and Irish at home and also speak some Spanish and French.

  • Help

    Help

    Current projects (Summer 2016): fencing for chickens and fruit bushes, reroofing an old shed & converting to workshop/ potting shed; building a pizza oven; repainting wrought iron gates; collecting honey.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a 4 berth camper van with toilet, mains electricity, heating and hot water, but full access to our bathroom as well. We'll eat together in our living room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cork City is about 20 mins away by bike (you can borrow ours) and most of the route is a former train line which is for bikes/pedestrians only. There are also buses to the city (the bus stop is about 20 mins walk or 5 mins drive if we are available to give you a lift). We are also close to Passage West, Cobh and Cork Airport is about 15 mins drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 872364596577