Come and help me with organic gardening on a cosy farm close to Tromsø, Norway

Country

Norway

updated  

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a woman, 51 years old. I live alone, while all my 4 children are grown and moved from home. This is a small farm which I bougt in 2019. I keep 45 sheep from the old norwegian breed, two icelandic horses, two cats and two dogs.The cats and the dogs live in the house as well.
    Because of the covid 19, I will prefer help from persons living in Norway, and even better in Troms. If you are vaccinated, I will accept you coming from abroad.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a few things about the organic way of growing vegetables and keeping animals. You can learn how to make juices and jam from wild berries harvested in the forest and the mountains. This I do during Autumn. I try to be self-sufficient and study the teqniques of regenerative agriculture.

  • Help

    Help

    I would appreciate help in different ways, but I think especially help concerning carpentry and/or repairing buildings. This is an old farm with a lot of challenges regarding the buildings.
    I need help with fencing for the sheep, painting the barn.
    In May I would appreciate help with the sheep while they are having their lambs during May and the beginning of June.
    There is also quite a few things to do in the garden, preparing for the vegetables.

    Working on a farm is quite hard work, and you should be fit to work here.

  • Languages spoken

    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If there are more than two work awayers at the same time, you have to share room. I also have a cabin when hosting in Summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You have a nice opportunity for hiking in this area and explore this amazing Nature. You could go fishing in the lake. Tromsø is only 50 kilometres from here. I have bicycles you can borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The wifi is really good, works all the time.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Big property, any size of vans can camp here

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 871837111777