Help in a small organic family farm in Ertvågsøya, Aure, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 317 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small Family With at small, organic farm on the Westcoast of Norway. We are Rita, Øystein and Jorunn (11).
    We have 12 milking cows, a bundle of calfes, and about 100 sheep. Rita also run a small dogkennel. And we have 4 cats. The farm lay quite remote on an large island, right by the sea, and includes a big mountain and forest with several hiking tracks. We have several boats, and Øystein go out regularly to fish.

    We connot take in workawayers from other countries at the moment due to corona travel restrictions, but as soon as borders open, we are ready.
    Also, We can only host one person.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A Meeting With the spectacular nature and unpredictable weather in coast-Norway.
    Experience in farmwork. Lots of wonderful animals. A Nice and helpful Family.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help With the milking and care for cows and calfes all year, and assistance With sheep in lamb-season (april - may), help With harvest (july-August) and a little gardening (summer). For specially interested: Wood/lumber in forest.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big, long, traditional wood-house. Workawayers have their own separate entrance, 1 bedroom, one sittingroom, a fully equipped Kitchen and bathroom/restroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surrounding nature is quite beautiful and offers a lot of possibilities if you like to go hiking, bicycling or Fishing. The location of farm is Remote, but it only takes 10 minutes to go to grocerystore by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 991374617626