Dogcare Project on Bentota Beach,Sri lanka

  • Favourited 599 times
  • Last activity: 12 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    My name is Christina. I am German and I live im Sri Lanka since 2016. I have a dog care shelter together with a buddhist monk. The shelter is located on Bentota Beach and gives currently home to around 140 dogs. I live with my daughter Lana (3 years old) and my partner Keshan in a house around 3km distance from the beach. In our house we take care of dogs who are currently sick or recover from surgeries.
    We rent another house in Maha Induruwa which is around 7km from Bentota and very close to the beach. In the big garden are around 35 dogs. Many of them are handicapped or sick.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a good impression of Sri Lanka and the people.
    As my organisation is registered in Germany I can provide you with a letter which confirms your help activity for the organization.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I am looking for volonteers who support with everyday work like cleaning dog huts, cleaning house and garden, support with dogfood cooking and feeding, houseworks, dog washing and cuddling.

    Our house is located in Bentota, around 70km south of the capital Colombo. You would have a extra bedroom and share bathroom with us. I am not able to take care of your foods because leck of time but of course you can use our kitchen or join with us when we are cooking.
    Bentota is a tourist village with a beautiful beach.

    In our house in Maha Imduruwa I can host also a volonteer or couple. I can offer a sleeping room with attached bathroom. The kitchen also can be used for cooking. The volonteers have to take care of their foods but I can provide some incredience as rice, vegetables, fruits, butter etc.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Bentota: clean bedroom with a 120cm or 140cm bed. Shared bathroom and kitchen

    Induruwa: bedroom with 140cm bed and attached bathroom

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 378289421435

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.8)

Help us out at our new hostel in beautiful Sigiriya, Sri Lanka
Feel the real wildlife and nature and help with love and happiness in Yala, Sri Lanka