Help us look after our small market garden and animals in Gunnedah, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 29 times
  • Last activity: 4 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We have a small hobby farm just outside of Gunnedah, NSW. We grow a large area of summer veggies but have downsized as we've gotten older. Spring is here and we will start transplanting veggies soon. There is tractor driving to do or mowing with a zero-turn, Weed chipping , sauce and relish making from our own produce and other chores associated with a farm. Our town is about 10,000 people, a typical country town reliant on agriculture but also has a growing coal mine industry. We live on a major river so have wildlife and birds to see. We are looking for helpers but also include you in our social circle and family events. We've hosted volunteers for the last 4 years from other websites and enjoyed learning about different cultures.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a multicultural family. My husband was born and raised in this town. I migrated from Texas, USA. You will be treated as part of the family so we include you in all of our activities and outings. We've hosted backpackers from Japan, UK, USA, Canada, Germany, Argentina, France, Poland.

  • Help


    The work is very basic and repetitive: watering greenhouse and outdoor plants, picking vegetables, pulling weeds, watering crops, mowing the lawn... We have chickens for eggs and Jack Russell dogs and a few cattle when the seasons are good. If you have a special skill we will try and utilise it. We also make a range of Pickles, Chutneys, Sauces and Jams from our own produce and sell on farm or at the local markets. There is always something to do around the place.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We offer a room with a king size bed or a room with bunk beds and you would be sharing meals with us. In the summer we have fresh veggies to eat but we don't follow a strict vegetarian diet but don't mind if you do. We eat meat and often Texas style BBQ.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have water again in the river after 2 years of drought, I tend to spend a lot of time fishing. We are in a floodplain surrounded by hills. There are national and state forests to explore. Tamworth is about an hour away for more shopping and site-seeing. We are accessible by train from Sydney or bus from elsewhere. We have full phone coverage and wifi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Full Telstra and Optus coverage here. We do have wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    plenty of room for caravans

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 783922176484

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help create an enchanting oasis while learning valuable gardening skills in Faulconbridge, Australia
Help in the heart of an ecovillage, Queensland, Australia