Help around the family home in South of France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 214 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    I am French and my wife is Indian and we recently made our dream come true and bought a beautiful home in the South of France. The house is an old and dignified lady - full of charm and stories, rooms full of personality and vivacity and people pass through, spending a few sleeps within her walls.
    We are running it as a guest house and are often taken up with business duties so
    we need help with chores around the family house such as laundry, cleaning the rooms or anything one might do in a (very big) family home, you do not need to participate in the business or talk to guests unless that is something you enjoy. We also try to match skills to the kind of tasks we need help with around the home as much as possible.
    We do not currently have kids or pets of our own but often have others’ in our home!

    We are both very interested in the arts, culture, nature, anthropology and philosophy. We have lived in Africa for a long time and have only 6 months ago moved to France to start this new life.
    Tanur has worked in hospitality and wildlife conservation - her big passion. In the past I have worked as an agronomist, a photojournalist and also as a teacher of french literature.
    We are also both deeply passionate about the environment and human impact and are trying to adopt a less consumeristic lifestyle. Vegetarians and vegans, meat eaters and hunter-gatherers - all are welcome; we just ask you to be mindful of your choices (how you use and dispose plastic, turn off electricity when not in the room etc) when you are in the home (or anywhere in the world).

    We hope to meet interesting people, exchange meaningful moments and share our home and experiences with those who come and live with us.

    You will be welcome to spend as much time as you like with us or do your own thing. We will also be happy to introduce you to our friends, the area and the necessary French essentials!

    Tanur will tell you more about the practical side of things, but I can already quickly tell you that you will have a private or shared room and a bathroom. Helping hours will vary between 20-25 hours a week, 5 days.
    Food is provided, three meals every day and a help-yourself-whenever-hungry policy :). We think of workawayers as an extension of our family when with us.
    We have a swimming pool which is great for hot days, and there's a fire place in the dinning for the colder months. The garden offers little nooks for reading, the village is very charming and great walks are right on your doorstep. Uzes - a very pretty medieval town - is also accessible by bus from a neighbouring village.


    You can contact us and we will revert soon!

    Warm regards,

    Gilles and Tanur

    *️AUGUST 18th - SEPT 30th ( + / - few days) - we are looking for one female volunteer (since the room is shared and we have committed to another female volunteer)

    OCT 1st - OCT 31st - one couple with shared skills of easy maintenance, general housekeeping like cleaning, laundry etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both well- travelled and have spent significant portions of our lives abroad - I (Gilles) grew up between Argentina and France and then moved to Africa for 35 years. My wife (Tanur) is Indian but lived in Tanzania for the past 7 years. We both are very interested in culture and anthropology.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping hours will vary between 24-25 hours a week, 5 days. We have a swimming pool which is great for hot days, and there's a fire place in the dinning for the colder months. Normal work includes cleaning the family house, maintaining the garden, assisting with maintenance when needed, helping with laundry.
    We are also happy to use any special or specific skills, if they can be applied to our place and the workawayers enjoy something in particular!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Gujarati, Hindi, KiSwahili

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one dedicated bathroom and shower to be shared by workaway volunteers. There is also a private room to be shared by workaway volunteers (maximum 2 to a room).
    It is an old house full of character and volunteers are welcome to use the pool, gardens and other common areas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 9 kms from Uzès, a picturesque and very visited town in the South of France. Often counted as one of the "must-see" towns of Provence, Uzes is full of alleys and small cafes and restaurants. Avignon, Arles and Nimes are all accessible by bus. Nature around the house is truly outstanding and lovely trails in the French wilderness and countryside begin right behind our home.
    We are surrounded by wine and small farms and olive groves.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our dining room
Long tables perfect for summer meals
Indoor patio
12th century (?) well in the house.
Beautiful countryside around the house. Great for walks!
The entrance with chalk walls.
Just outside the house







Host ref number: 866625859876