Dog sitter in the beautiful surf paradise of Arrifana, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 1355 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ola! Hi! Nice to "meet" you. I am Maggie and together with my husband, Colin, we are running a summer surf/winter enduro hostel.

    in this moment we need help from someone who can watch our dog full time!

    Who would be a good fit??
    Someone who loves dogs and nature and ocean, who enjoys to be active (surfing, hiking...etc), who is happy meeting new people and also enjoys time alone.



    A little about the area: We are on the south west coast in the Algarve region in a small fisherman town called Arrifana. The area is a natural park with beautiful landscapes and cliffs. It has loads of surfers coming in the summer months. There are beautiful hikes (the Rota Vincentina), many wonderful beaches, waves, and great food.

    About US: Colin has been running this place for 7 seasons now. I am a newer addition as this has been my third full season at the lodge! I am a Yoga teacher from the United States but I have spent much time living in other parts of the world. Before coming to Portugal I was in Thailand for the last 4 years. I love Yoga and Spirituality is a big part of my inner world. I have caught the surf bug and in general I am a very active person (running, surfing, wake board, skiing...etc) Colin is from Germany and the lodge has really been born out of his vision. He feel in love with the area and wanted to create a place for other people to enjoy a place that he likes so much. He loves to Surf and ride the Enduro Bikes. He also likes to spend time Paddle Boarding, Fishing, or on a boat. We have 2 dogs that live with us and the 4 of us love time spent walking and enjoying the landscape. On May 28th 2018 we welcomed our baby boy into this world. We are full time parents and love our time all together. We have moved out of the lodge and live 7 minutes down the road. It brings us real happiness to share this place with you and in doing so have a bit more time with our son!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can only speak for myself...i came to this area at first as a traveler. And from this experience I feel in love with the surf. I am in the water as often as I can be learning about the connection with the waves and the technique for the surf. When I'm not in the water I am surrounded by really inspiring people coming to this area. People creating businesses in different creative ways and people deeply involved with meditation, yoga, spirituality.

    Specifically at the lodge you will work side by side with Colin. Colin has been quite a mentor for people coming to work here. He has created this lodge to be a place people are returning to again and again. He works hard to make this place so spectacular and he ENJOYS what he has created. Both at the lodge and in Arrifana you will be surrounded by people from different parts of the world. Already I am American, Colin is German, and you will be in Portugal! The lodge is up and running so you will learn what its like to have this type of business...the challenges, the joy, the need to think on your toes... but we are also committed to this being the best place it can be. Any of you vision and ideas are welcome!!

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Summer Season Tasks....
    -Guest Interaction (showing them the beach/taking them to live music in the night)
    -Cleaning the common areas (pool area, billiard room, outdoor kitchen)
    -housekeeping of the rooms
    -Gardening
    -Landscaping
    -As a team we put on evening events (bbq, live music, dancing...etc)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1. Converterd motorbike trailer. Very simple accommodation which is basically just a bed though people have loved sleeping here.

    2. Large Caravan. either 1 double bed and a sitting area or 2 double beds.

    3. Small Caravan. 1 double bed with small sitting area or double bed with single bed

    Shared bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off there is of course the opportunity to surf. Also the many things available by foot....There is a pool or a beach to open up a book and just relax at! There is the opportunity to fish or horseback ride. We offer Yoga. There is skim boarding, hiking, and biking. If you rent a car or have a car of your own (we could help you get this sorted out!!) a bit further away (40 minute drive) there is the city of Lagos. there are more beautiful beaches, small walking streets, caves, wake boarding...etc. Our closest town is called Aljezur. It is an old town that is pretty basic but has everything you need. Pharmacy, grocery stores, shops, restaurants, a castle, a river you can SUP board.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours a day, 6 days a week (max 25 hours/week)









Host ref number: 865617517449