Help out with farm chores and with our kids in Waldviertel, Lower Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 6 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    974

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, that is Micha, Elisabeth and 3 Kids ( Twin Girls born 2015) and a boy (born 2016) plus Amy our herding dog live on a rented farm in an area called Waldviertel in Lower Austria. We breed Texas Longhorn Cattle as first breeder in Austria which is quite challenging, as this includes bus tours for groups that have never seen this cattle race around here, quite a lot of intressted visitors that need a lot of information and lots and lots of international contacts. We also do pastured poultry in special "chicken boxes" that move daily and also started that type of project as first in Austria. We are constently building up customers and amount of Chickens we raise during pasture season. Although we are not certified we carry the organic way in our hearts. No chemical fertilzer, hormones or antibiotics go into our animals. Elisabeth works with Homepathie on our animals and family a lot. We like to cook seasonal and regional incredients in international and local dishes. But we also like ordering Pizza every once in a while. ;-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak English quite fluently and of course German. ;-) . We live in an interessting area and can give you ideas of what can be done around here besides being on the farm. We would take you with us when we do family trips.

  • Help

    Help

    We do quite some projects on our farm. So help is always needed and appreciated in areas like: Moving chickens out to pasture, moving chicken pens daily, check cows in barn and pasture, help in the garden (new ideas and inputs are highly appreciated), help with the kids and show them more about whats going on on a farm every day, house work, social networking on facebook and instagram, help building things here and there - we also have a herding dog that needs some more training besides herding ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room on your own - everything else is shared

    We cook fresh home cooked meals every day or every other day (if enough ist left for a second lunch). Breakfast and dinner is also a fixed family gettogether and we like see everybody joining. Otherwise, our fridge is always full and we have eggs from our own hens. ;-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 864176113326