Help at a magnificent ancient farmhouse in the Pyrénées, south of France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Magnificent ancient farmhouse in the South of France, based in the lovely hills that build the foreland to the Pyrénées. The house and its barn are surrounded by 2ha of land: a meadow, oak trees, orchards... Currently there are 2 adults (a business consultant and a building artisan), the dog Topo, a cat, 5 hens, 2 roosters and 5 sheep living here. This private place needs helping hands with gardening and general work around the house :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will discover the authentic countryside of the Gascony and Comminges part in the French "Midi". Original French food of high quality, old farmhouses, typical markets, lovely nature. We can help you refresh your French language skills, or even German. Languages spoken: French, German, English.

  • Help

    Help

    There are many activities on offer, depending on your passion and the season:
    - create a vegetable garden from May on and take care of it
    - clear out blackberry brambles and trim the hedges
    - create a phytosanitary basin
    - rehabilitate 2 ponds for biodiversity
    - install a pump in the well and create a water basin
    - empty the barn that is full with old wood
    - dismantle a ruin (small house that was used formerly to dry tobacco leaves)
    - pick the fruits and transform them into jams, compotes, etc.
    - plant trees

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    In case you wish to update your French, we can agree to speak only French at home with you :) There are many historic places around such as Aurignac and the Gorges de la Save, for those who are interested in history and archeology.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two possibilities: you can either sleep in your own caravan or in a room in our farmhouse. This room is not renovated yet, but comfortable to live in. The house has modern electricity, heating, Internet connection and a modern bathroom.
    Meals are cooked with regional products, from the garden, the market or from biological farms around here. Omnivorous cuisine, which can easily be adapted to vegetarians.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport in the village. We can pick you up at the train station at 20km from here. Ideally, you have either a car or bicycle, but if not, we can help out from time to time with a ride (if you wish to visit a place in the surroundings). You can enjoy the place itself, take walks around (climbing in the Save gorges, visiting Aurignac or Saint Bertrand de Comminges, swimming in the Lac de la Gimone) and discover the Pyrenean piedmont that is rather calm and restful. During clear weather, you can enjoy a beautiful view on the Pyrenees chain.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a decent Internet connection here (I use it myself for working from home all day). You can connect to Internet from your room and therefore work from distance on your personal or professional work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No problem if you wish to come with your tent, van, camping car or caravan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you wish to bring your well-educated dog or cat, this might be possible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day (half-day work, half-day free time)



Host ref number: 863651328897