Help with general maintenance, gardening, household work and a variety of different jobs. Vorden, Holland

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 401 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Norwegian/Dutch couple. Håkan is retired, Jitsche still works 4 days a week. We have 3 daughters aged 30, 27 and 21 whom have all left home, but come home every now and then for the weekend. The last 10 years we have been busy rebuilding a "pigsty" into a comfortable house. We built our house with ecological materials and did most of the work ourselves.
    We have 4 (Ouessant) mini sheep, two labradors, two cats and chickens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists

  • Help

    Help

    We have finished transforming another barn into an appartment for two guests which we rent out as a B&B.
    We are looking for people who can help us in the garden, clean, help with the housework, help with maintenance work, (timberwork, painting etc.), walk the dogs, saw and chop wood etc.
    We are not vegetarians but eat little meat.

    As a workawayer you will be part of our family, so we expect guest to participate in all the usual household chores, like doing the dishes, cleaning the house etc.
    We have our meals together, breakfast, lunch and diner. We like company, but we also like our privacy in the evenings.
    We have bikes at the disposal of the work awayers. if you want to visit one of the cities in the area you have to take the train.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, dutch, norwegian, some french and german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a small caravan in the yard with a double bed when the weather alowes it. When it is to cold to sleep in the caravan you can sleep in a small bedroom for two upstairs in the house. Upstairs there is an extra living area at your disposal. You share our (large) bathroom with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the east of Holland in beautiful countryside, an area well known for biking, walking, and horse riding. The area is famous for its 8 mansions. The nearest small village, Vorden, is about 3 1/2 kilometers away. The nearest city is Zutphen, a nice "Hanze" city, 7 minutes by train. The area is rural, so don't expect a wild city live.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Lewis from Spain proud of the terrace he made
Oleysia from Russia struggling with the weeds
Christine from Canada playing with our puppies
Brad and Debie helping prepare our boat for winter
Wintertime
Oksana from Ukraine and Adriana from Colombia
Some of our animals
Anna from Germany in love with our dogs
John working in the vegetable garden
Brian from Canada brick laying
Our living room
Our Australian guests Abby and Brad busy painting
The house in wintertime
Autumn in Vorden






















Host ref number: 686474591978