We are a fun family of 6 in Perth, Western Australia

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2022

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an energetic, busy, fun and relaxed family of 6 in Perth, Western Australia. Chris, 34, (Aussie), Mez, 35, (Kiwi), and 4 kids aged 14, 12, 5 and 4. We also have 3 furry babies, 1 cat and 2 dogs, with chickens and 3 horses, one of which thinks he is a human and would come inside if we let him! We love cars, boxing, art and craft, sewing, Lego, basketball, horse riding, and love spending time with family. We have extended family as well as friends in the Perth area who enjoy interacting with our guests and may have extra experiences on offer from time to time. We live on a 8 acre property in the Armadale area, where we have lots of space for fun outdoor activities and a large workshop with a small automotive business operating. We are in a semi-rural area so there are many interesting animals to interact with next door (emu, cows, sheep, pigs, and plenty of bird wildlife). We are lucky to have our dad/pop (Kiwi, 60's) living in a flat on the property also. We always have family and friends coming and going with some staying longer than others. We enjoy sociable activities like BBQs at the beach, bonfire gatherings, large family dinners and time spent playing board or interactive games with friends and family. We enjoy a few drinks and are a strictly smoke-free and drug-free environment.
    We love meeting new people and hearing their stories. We haven't traveled much yet so when the world comes to us we absolutely love hearing all about it!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a truly local experience. You will find out what it is like to live as a family in Perth, WA, with influences from NZ. We also have friends in family in NZ and other countries who would be happy to host you via our recommendation if you were headed their way next! We would love to involve you in any of our daily activities and introduce you to the people who cross our paths. We are also happy to take you out exploring and out to local events we attend, where possible.
    We would love to help you with your English, teach you about Aussie and Kiwi cultures and traditions, show you around our beautiful city and involve you in our vibrant family life, if you would like. We would love to teach you / have you experience our sports and hobbies like playing basketball, riding horses, riding motorbikes and doing flips on the trampoline!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Chris works FIFO 2x2, as well as running his own businesses and hobbies, Mez works part time, runs a fashion design and apparel production business from home part time and manages the household and children so we need help with the cooking, housekeeping and some times with the children's school transport and extra curricular activities.
    The youngest child is in full time daycare and the older 3 are in full time school, with a busy full schedule of after school activities. Mez can mostly run them around.
    On weekdays we will need groceries collected from the local shops (5min drive) (or order online for delivery) and house work completed (washing clothing, loading/unloading dishwasher, clean up kitchen, vacuum and mop floor, tidy toys etc, make dinners).
    We are seeking someone who can look around and see what needs to be done and can complete tasks independently. We do provide a written schedule and other details you will need.
    You must be responsible and reliable, hardworking, trustworthy and good with children.
    Approx 25hrs work per week. We may need dinner made on the weekends while Chris is away.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are happy to teach English. Our eldest child is learning Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a large 5 bedroom home.
    You would be offered a decent sized room in the house with double or queen bed, wardrobe with shelves and all linen and towels provided, with shared use of a large bathroom (shared with the 2 older children). Free unlimited WiFi, Netflix (and other apps).
    All food will be supplied in exchange for your service. We eat most foods (not keen on spicy!, we like trying new foods and meals and would love your cultural input! We are not vegan or vegetarian so you will need to cater to any specific needs at your own cost. We do have gluten and lactose intolerance's within our family that we cater for.
    Your travelling animals are welcome to stay with us too, provided they will not get overwhelmed with all our children and animals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can provide you with a car and a fuel allowance that covers the children's expenses. You are welcome to use the car for your personal exploration however fuel for this will be your responsibility.
    We are very busy and work, education and family focused. We have strict schedules to keep for things like school runs, work, daycare, and after school activities, however, the housework can be done at anytime during the day that suits you so you would have time to do other things during the weekdays and weekends.
    There are plenty of local activities to explore on day or weekend trips. We are approx 30min drive from the city, beaches, island trips, darling ranges, waterfalls, man-made dams, bush walks etc. We are in quite a convenient central location close to all major highways and 20mins from the airport. 8min drive to local train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good unlimited WiFi connection available and included in the package. We welcome travellers who work online. We have various workspaces available if required.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can accommodate any size of camper van or motor home on our 8 acre property.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have lots of pet animals and there are farm animals next door, so any pets coming to stay will need to be comfortable, well trained and safe around all of these, as well as children.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 862694239855