Experience Vancouver and BC wilderness while helping build our new farm, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 271 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    358

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *COVID hosting* While we are very relaxed by nature, we live with our mother so we are trying to be cautious during this time - but we still want to make space for people who need it and are stuck without other places to stay. Any new workawayers will need to stay in a little cabin down by the lake (no electricity or running water. Outhouse bathroom) for the first couple weeks to maintain isolation. We can share meals outside and there is a little work shed near our house that has internet access. We have had one workawayer do this so far and she said it was fine.

    We are a family of 4, and just built our own house on Mission, BC this last year. Our 5 acre property backs onto a lake, has a river out front, and is surrounded by proper forest (that basically has no end). There are a lot of really nice hiking trails in the area and we have a canoe to take out on the lake.

    We are a very welcoming family who love to travel (in her first two years of life our daughter visited over 14 countries) and genuinely delight in getting to know other people on a deep level. People who live with us learn quickly that we are very hard to offend and extremely easy going. Our house has always been very open and we are known for cramming as many bodies as will fit into our house because we love having a people around.

    We are currently looking for helpers with some level of experience with manual labour or construction and can easily accept two workers at a time. Right now we could use help with prepping our farm, cleaning up dead wood in the forest, finishing mini cabins and building a woodshed.

    Guests can stay in the main house in one of the kids rooms (we would make them both share in one). Alternatively you could stay in one of the small cabins on the property. We have one mini cabin nearly done and could use some help with the interior finishing. The cabin does not have any amenities so you will be living with an outhouse (unless you come to the main house) and battery powered lights. We also have a shed closer to the house that has electricity and internet, but needs some finishing on the interior to make it habitable.

    Our kids, are 7 and 4 years old. They are creative kids who love to play outside, dance and draw. They are each others favourite people and do a good job of looking out for one another. Both kids understand German but always respond in English. The father of the house speaks German and French fluently and is quite capable in a few other languages as well (if you speak another language he would love to learn it). The mother of the house could teach you about local edible and medicinal plants if you are interested.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    An opportunity to learn construction, finishing and gardening skills. Learn how to use a chainsaw for milling wood. There is also opportunity to fish and learn about indigenous plants and their uses (I am a bit geeky about it). We have experience living in other countries so we always try and do our best to make others enjoy their travel time with us and can direct you to the best sites to see in the area.

  • Help

    Help

    Need help with: Clearing dead wood from the forest, gardening, fence building, cabin finishing, poultry care, cleaning and cooking.


    Helpers can sleep in one of the bedrooms of our unfinished house. The house is getting pretty close to being finished so soon we can even put some furniture in there!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bunkbed in main house or mattress in cabin loft.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vancouver is quite easy to get around by transit. I take the west coast express train to Vancouver from Mission 4 days a week. We have bikes for our housemates to use as well. If you arrive at the Mission train station, Abbotsford airport or Abbotsford Greyhound bus station we can pick you up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our lake - we have a canoe if you want to explore it!
Our mini truck for hauling things around the property
A guest cabin almost done!
Caught a couple chum salmon this day during the salmon run in the river across the road from our property.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.3)












Host ref number: 861966494911