Help out on a small property and experience New Zealand life.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 172 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are on a small property midway between Invercargill and Riverton, Southland. We are beginning our second season developing a garden based on the principles outlined in JM Fortier's 'Market Gardener' book blending in methods used by Richard Perkins. We are interested in restoring healthy soil using only local, organic inputs where possible with a holistic approach. We have learnt a lot in the last year and are happy to share that knowledge with others.

    We are a family of 7 with five homeschooled children aged from 1-12 years of age. We run a small home based business as well as running a few sheep and chickens on our homestead. My Parents have 3 horses next door that we look after regularly also.

    Our property adjoins Big Lagoon, a QEII covenanted wetland with a diverse ecology and approx. 40 minute return walk.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We aim to provide a natural NZ family experience. Living adjacent a restored wetland gives a unique experience around pest control, native planting and see some native birdlife. We currently have a trial market garden plot where we are experimenting with the tools and techniques outlined in the book 'The Market Gardener' by JM Fortier. We aim to have our guests experience and try first hand as many of these techniques as possible.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a range of options depending on the time of year. We have general garden maintenance, poultry care, some horse feeding and a market garden size vegetable plot with varying crops throughout the year.
    We also cut and split our own firewood and there could be some native planting/maintenance around the lagoon at times.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a separate sleepout with double bunk bed for up to 3 guests. Bathroom is inside the house but there are breakfast and tea and coffee facilities in the sleepout. Lunch and evening meals would be shared in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near to Riverton, Invercargill and Stewart Island. Oreti beach is an approx 5km drive. We can transport to town (Invercargill) most days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)






























Host ref number: 858544978392