Fit the work in around learning to surf and experience true paradise in Galicia, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a surfer, recreational pilot, freediver and have sailed all over the world. I recently sold boat number 12 and purchased a campervan. I love travelling and exploring and surfing. We recently purchased a small 4 acre property in Galicia, NE Spain. It has 2 houses, a cottage and a large barn which is the only structure that is habitable right now.
    There is a fantastic high quality spring that is piped to the property. The property has been uninhabited for many years. The valley is occupied by several organic small farmers of different types. My long term vision is to create a sustainable organic, low carbon footprint retreat. Since I have spent many years living on boats off grid, I have the ability to set up without mains electricity. There is a small mill house on the property that many years ago supplied electricity to the valley. I am hoping to resurrect/replace the machinery and get it working again.
    I dont drink, dont smoke, definitely dont do drugs. I love nature and peace and quiet. The area around my property abounds in walking routes, mountain bike routes and there are multiple uncrowded good surf breaks starting at 15 minutes away. I have 3 soft long boards and 2 longboards. You will need to provide your own wetsuit. Have taught many people to surf
    If you feel like experiencing true paradise. Look no further than Galicia. The property has many fruit trees.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have many years of surfing experience having surfed all over the world. I am more than happy to teach people to surf and fit the work in around the surfing and exploring. I will supply accomodation and purchase most of the food but would want travellers to prepare the food and wash up etc. The project of restoring the property is going to be such a wide ranging experience. The property is very rustic now but is a gorgeous natural setting with a stream running through the property and numerous fruit trees. We may need to stop work to make jam from the fruit when it is ripe! And will always stop work if the surf is good. The local towns of Mondonedo and Lourenza are very close and on the Camino Norte and Santiago trails. Lovely towns to visit. We are close to the coast and towns like Ortigueira where the July Celtic music festival happens. The valley of Couboeira is very active in promoting sustainable agriculture and welcoming to foreigners.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people with stone building skills, plastering skills, electrician skills, brush clearing, horticultural skills. Gardening skills. Cooking skills. Carpentry skills. Or just hard workers who like surfing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans/ dutch, zulu, basic Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tents pitched inside the barn. Later when the houses are habitable there will be better accomodation. I will buy most of the food for normal basic meals, but want the workaways to prepare it all and do washing up etc. Alcohol/ beverages are not included. Snacks are not included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So many local towns around that are on the Camino Santiago Trail. Celtic music festival in July in Ortigueira. Surfing mountain hiking and biking. The Catedrales rock formations are 20 minutes away. We are 6 km from the nearest town. Nightlife is zero unless you have a car. There are no buses.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a weekend

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 853354237697