Language Exchange or help with my tour guide company in Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ola!! My name is Sayuri and I work as a tour guide in Salvador. I have my own little company and I am specialized in cultural tours such as food tours.
    I live with my mother (around 70 years old) and she is very independent.
    WE love travelling - I am also an active couchsurfer in my hometown and we love learning languanges.
    I am looking for a professional help in languages, English is fine but if you speak Italian, French or Japanese is a plus for me!
    The work would not be more than 3 hours per day, during weekdays. you will have free weekends or we can organize the best time for both of us.
    Basically planning one or 2 classes per day, and help a bit with housework + gardening if you want.
    I also need help with my little business in tourism, so if you are a photographer or designer, help will be also welcome!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a tour guide in Salvador, Bahia, so for sure I can help you to explore the city and the state of Bahia.
    Also, you will live not in a touristic place and will be able to see real life in Bahia
    We live just 1 block from the beach, sunshine here is beautiful and winter is never colder than 20C.

  • Help

    Help

    Ola! I live with my mother that is always trying to improve her English and I am learning French, Italian and Japanese. So anyone that is fluent in those languages and have a teaching background is welcome!
    The help we would need more in the morning:
    1. Help a bit in the garden and maybe some house light cleaning (we have a cleaning lady coming once a week)
    2. Prepare a lesson for my mother - basically English. She loves talking about travelling and cooking.
    3. Prepare a lesson for myself (I might not have it daily, but lets try). I prefer italian, spanish, french or Japanese lessons. We can also do the lesson as a tour in town, as I use languages to work.
    No more than 3/hours per day, 5 times a week. So you may have a free weekend to enjoy yourself in town or close in day trips.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portugese, English, Spanish a bit of French and Italian and learning japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room, with limited internet (internet works near the living room). You will also have your own private bathroom - we expect that you keep both clean during your stay and before you leave.

    I will provide for sure breakfast. However lunch and other meals depends no the house daily routine. You are more than welcome to cook in the house, but be aware that you might need to buy some groceries. Most of the times, I dont have lunch myself at home.
    Guest however is free to use the kitchen and we expect that he/she will have money to provide the groceries if it is necessary to cook, when we are not cooking ourselves.
    Of course, when we have meals at home you are more than welcome to join us!! But it does not mean that we have all meals at home and w will provide it. My mother is retired and she has her activities, I am a tour guide and most of the times I don't eat at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your free time, you can explore the city touristic center (aroun 40 minutes by public transportation), enjoy the beach area or just relax at home. I am happy to help you plan your days in Bahia.
    You will have plenty of time off - we dont need more than 3 hours per day (2-3 hours of teaching and helping a little in the house - cleaning, gardening, helping with some house work in general)
    Please when you request the workaway, make sure you will have money to pay for your own expenses in town (transportion, food, etc). We are happy to share our house, for sure breakfast but dont expect to have a prepare lunch or dinner everyday in the house. Most of the time I dont have lunch and we usually dont dinner in the house (we like to eat soup or snack before sleeping)
    You are free to cook in the house, as long as you respect the house rules. Basically ask my mother what it is fine to do around. We share the house and our hospitality, but we expect that you have also your own money to travel.
    We are very independent, I work a lot and we expect you also to be independent in the house and city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My mother, Lenice and me
I am a tour guide and traveller. I cant travel as much as before, but hosting is a way to have the world coming to my house. This photo was in Morrocos (dec. 2018)
I am a very active member of couchsurfing!!! Check my profile sy1903
This is Barra and the Forte Santa Maria, Salvador is full os beaches and historical places to visit and feel the atmpshere. Also we are consider the most black city in Brazil, or the Black Rome!
I live in the old colonial capital of Brasil. This is one of our most famous view from the Elevador Lacerda - around 30 minutes by car from my house.


Host ref number: 348731998225