Eco-minded family seeking help with our homestead, in the beautiful native bush... Far North of New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated   Last minute

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would love help inside and out, work and separate accomodation would best suit couple or single person ... help with house work; cleaning and food prep, and outside; gardening- planting weeding ect and land care/maintenance including weed whacking digging holes planting and multching fruit trees ect are some jobs.. also must like children. :) nanny work for right person.
    ———————————————-

    Eco-minded family seeking help with our homestead, in the beautiful native bush... but also not too far from the spectacular beaches

    Hi Work away-ers! My family consists of myself (Amber) my husband Inti and our daughter 4 1/2 and son almost 2 and baby .We live in the beautiful Far North of New Zealand and we need help on our 25 acre lifestyle block. Help both inside and out! As a young family we are implementing organic principles on our property. We are very hard working and do expect focused & industrious work from our helpers too, in return we love sharing our life and what we like to do for fun! So, If you are a diligent hardworking person interested in seeing a working family function, learning what we do to reduce our carbon footprint and how we employ sustainable practices please read on :).


    update as of 11/08/22

    Possible longer term stay for couple or single person details below:

    We have a unique opportunity for a special person/couple looking to relocate to the beautiful Far North encompassing home and property help as well as child care.

    We would like to hear from someone with a passion for working with children, background or training/upskilling in ECE would be ideal. However, it’s more important to have a core value system where children are treated with respect and empathy, connection and kindness and a practice for patience and intention.

    My family and I need the help of a positive joyous person. As a growing family (4yo, 20mo and Baby!), Self-employed running a business, and living on a lifestyle block with the goal of more ‘self-sufficiency’ there is always A LOT to do!

    We welcome the idea of building community and would like to hear from someone special who would get satisfaction from the appreciated contribution they will make. (even in the often repetitive chores)

    The most important thing for us is finding the right person, ensuring everything is flowing well and communication is key in this. So... If you think your a good fit lets start a conversation about what this might look like!

    As our property and accommodation are rural in the beautiful Far North bush, this opportunity is best suited for someone with an intrepid spirit, who enjoys the outdoors. (the accommodation is not wheelchair accessible)

    Please get in touch if you would like to know more about us and how this unique opportunity may suit you.

    Thanks!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love sharing our interests with our helpers.

    Along with permaculture design, growing food and preserving our surplus Amber is interested in utilising common and native plants for food and medicinal use, collecting and processing for balms or preserving may be a project we can do together.
    Inti is a keen hunter and fisherman. If the tasks we set out to do are completed with time to spare, and our Workawayers are keen, we may be able to take you along to amazing local fishing or hunting spots to help harvest dinner.

    Great conversation at dinner and sharing interests is something wonderful about having helpers from different places come stay with us. Also Inti speaks German and Amber grew up in the USA so we have a wide range of influence to our world lens.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help both inside and out. Some jobs we get helpers to help with (that need no pervious experience) are: general cleaning, cleaning windows, gardening, clearing weeds, land maintenance, stacking firewood, harvesting garden produce, preserving garden produce, making beer.

    If the right person, has child care experience and would like to be an Au Pair with us that is more than welcome too! Inti and I run a small business and I (Amber) do some work from home. The right person with child care experience way find a stay with us fun! This would look like playing and doing fun things with our children (arts and crafts, painting, exploring outside, water play ect.) as well as housework, while I get work done at home.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in our new separate accomodation this has a bedroom with a queen bed or futon couch/bed available if two people are staying. The separate house has big glass doors with beautiful high up valley views and includes a kitchen and bathroom (shower and toilet with running water) with main power but do our best to use the electricity sparingly. No wifi but has great cell reception. Our water is collected from the roof and stored in tanks, during summer it is very important to be mindful and use the water as sparingly as possible as drought is common and only going to get worse with years to come.
    Food- We eat well and you will too when you stay with us. We offer you three meals a day. Breakfast is self serve fruit, home made musli, or toast ... Lunch is usually left overs from the night before or a sandwich ..Dinner is usually shard meal and is always meat based.
    Generally We do not cater for vegan or vegetarians. We eat meat that is raised locally as well as some we hunt or fish ourselves. In addition to home or locally grown vegetables and fruit. May make exceptions for right person but this needs to be expressed prior to your arrival, arraigning this with us in advanced is imperative.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We often go to the beach and welcome you to come along too! if you have your own car the beach is just down the road after a days work if your keen to explore there are lots of awesome locations to check out like beaches, bush walks, Kauri trees and more! Town is 30 min away and we usually go once a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4.5 hours a day



Host ref number: 477516137214