A helping hand for our house and garden in Piemonte/ Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 216 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    398

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workawayers,

    We need under more a little help with building/ gardening (which can be hard work!) and everyday life ...

    After the Corona-crises we finally come back to normal life!
    For quite a time we didn't have workawayers, but we want to start it again...
    We are a German couple, who are restoring an old Italian Farmhouse in southern Piemonte, Italy to live here. the Alta Langa in Piemonte is the region of good wines and the home of the Slow-Food-Movement (we love both) - the distance to the sea is about one hour by car. Though we are here on the country-side, the social infrastructure is very good with a lot of shops and restaurants nearby.
    The house is situated in the Alta Langa near the little village of Prunetto on a south-west hillside with terraces and with a great view on the Mediterranean Alpes. Other towns nearby are Monesiglio, Cortemilia, Ceva, Alba - the next big town is Torino, the next big airport Milano-Malpensa.
    You really should love dogs: we have four Bergamasco-sheepdogs among them one puppy, who are part of our family and always around.
    On one of the terraces we have a nice swimmingpool (6,5 by 3,5m).
    We love to cook - our kitchen is tasty, light and healthy with a lot of vegetables from our garden or the markets nearby - typical Mediterranian - we love to make our pasta ourselves aswell as jam and tomato-sauces...
    ... and we love to have fun!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    respect for nature and ecological gardening, mediterranean cooking...

  • Help

    Help

    the work to do is very diversified:
    The house is nearly ready, but there is still a lot to do to really finish and maintain, like painting shutters and doors - it nevre ends...
    Here is also always garden work (we have flowers, vegetables, meadows and fruit-trees) and some terraces always need a helping hand too.
    Our Bergamasco-sheepdogs, who love to play and who need sometimes a bit of attention and grooming of their rasta-dreadlocks...
    You should do your part of cleaning, dish-washing etc. like we do
    The swimmingpool needs a bit of cleaning every day - saving bugs and flies out of the water

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is an old "rustico" a natural-stone house, which is nearly rebuilt totally.
    We have two bathrooms on two levels of the house, so one will be for you.
    You can choose if you prefer to sleep in our caravan, where you really would have your own home and privacy - or to sleep in the chamber below in the house, we sleep on the first floor and the cnter of our lives now is upstairs
    You would share meals with us and just live with us, but you can also have your privacy...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, depends on the kind of work...

Katie with Dido
Katie & Morgan grooming our dogs
jam jam...
Marie preparing our campfire for the barbecue
Rob and Sean are building our new pergola







Host ref number: 916375129782